It's Been A While, Sorry!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cena de BienvenidosCena de BienvenidosCena de Bienvenidos

The welcome dinner for a group of students from Chicago that came. The started later than us because they are on the quarter system.
Oh, so much has happened in these (almost) three weeks. I have gotten into the swing of things, am much better and communicating, and am really enjoying my classes (for the most part, anyway). It's much easier to do homework when you don't have to look up every third word! I have even successfully given two oral presentations. I am completely settled with my family, too. This Sunday, Belen and I are going to bake cookies and dye her hair. She was excited about the cookies because the cookies here are very different, much more like graham crackers. Angelito has attempted to teach me how to play his favorite computer game, and we watch Pokemon together sometimes. Angel and I debate politics and talk sports and about whatever is on the news. Esteban is still shy, but there are definitely improvements. We have gotten to the "weather talk" stage now. :-) I have also become really close with a lot of the other students and staff from the "Fund" (fundacion).

Most of our weekends have been spent hanging out and going to discos and/or bars in the evenings. A lot of the students travel during the weekends, but I can spread my vacations out as I will be here for the year. Most of the kids are only here for one semester and feel like they have to pack everything into a short period of time. This past Friday, my friend Andrea and I took a day trip to a little town in the area, Cuenca. It is supposed to take about two and a half hours by bus, but our bus ended up breaking down and it took us about four hours. In the old part of the city (el casco historico) there are houses that are built right up to the sides of the cliffs. They are very neat, but kind of scary because they look like they are going to tip off the edge. There is also a neat art museum, so I've been told, but it was siesta while we were there and the museum was not open. Even though our time was shortened, we got to see a lot of the city and can go back a different time. On Sunday the two of us hiked around the city and up onto large hills and rocks. It was a very pretty view of the city,
Hanging OutHanging OutHanging Out

Luis, Naty, Erin, Mandy, Edmarie, and Freddy at a cafe/bar area.
and very peaceful up there. We decided it would be a good place to do yoga if the rocks were a little bit flatter.

This Saturday we are planning to go to Warner Brother's amusement park in Madrid. Some kids were talking about roller coasters and decided that we needed to go. I love roller coasters, so I am pretty excited.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

At the DiscoAt the Disco
At the Disco

Freddy and I dancing at El Circulo de Arte
Claire and AshleyClaire and Ashley
Claire and Ashley

The girls were waiting for everyone so they could walk home.
O'BriensO'Briens
O'Briens

This is my favorite sign in the Irish Pub in Toledo. We also have gotten to know the bartender, Emilio!
PoliginoPoligino
Poligino

The "barrio" (neighborhood) that I live in. This is the view out of my bedroom window.
CloudsClouds
Clouds

The sky looked cool that night.
ErinErin
Erin

In Cuenca
Cool BuildingCool Building
Cool Building

I'm not quite sure what this is, but it looked neat. Cuenca
Casas ColgadasCasas Colgadas
Casas Colgadas

Oh no, they're going to fall!
Andrea and ErinAndrea and Erin
Andrea and Erin

We actually wanted us with the house behind us, it was a really cool shade of blue. It didn't work, but we look good.
ToledoToledo
Toledo

This is part of the view from the giant rock we were on.
Erin and AndreaErin and Andrea
Erin and Andrea

We are "between" the cathedral and Alcazar.
ShadowShadow
Shadow

It's my shadow on the tree.
ErinErin
Erin

It was so peaceful!
Todos esta bien!Todos esta bien!
Todos esta bien!

Everything is wonderful.
ToledoToledo
Toledo

This is a bridge built by the Romans when they still ruled in Toledo.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb