First Mega Entry


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

AsherAsherAsher

Playing in the backyard.
Sunday, August 24
I was all packed and ready to go. Amy, Ty, Asher, Dan and Anna came to Mom and Dad’s for dinner, and I got to hang out and say my goodbyes to everyone. Surprisingly, there were no tears (at least that I know of) and it was easier than I thought it would be. I stayed up pretty late finishing petty things and reflecting a lot.

Monday, August 25
Mom and I left home for Minneapolis at 5:45 am for my 12:15 pm flight. The airlines say to be 3 hours early for international flights, so we were. We had no trouble, though, and just hung out until I had to go through security. The first leg of my flight was to Philadelphia, and then from Philadelphia to Madrid.

Tuesday, August 26
I got into Madrid, but an hour late which made me miss my flight to Barcelona. Frederike had booked the flight from Madrid to Barcelona for me, but since it was a different airline I had to buy a new ticket. That was definitely an unexpected expense, but there wasn’t much that could be done about it.
I arrived in Barcelona around 4:30 pm and then took a bus to our hostel. It was really good to get to see Frederike! Our roommates in the hostel were really cool, so we talked with them for a while and then went to get some dinner and walk around the city.

Wednesday, August 27
This morning we got up and walked through and area of the city called Las Ramblas. There are a bunch of little shops, street vendors, and markets all over. Then we headed to the sea and walked around the pier and the mall that is on the pier. We spent most of our day at the beach just hanging out, talking, and reading. It was really relaxing.

Thursday, August 28
In the morning we went to breakfast with Frederike’s uncle Helmut and talked with him for a while. We then toured an old cathedral, looking at the ridiculously intricate carvings, alters, and paintings. We also got to go on the roof top and see some pretty cool sites. After the cathedral, we walked around the oldest part of the city where there is a bunch of really cool, locally owned shops. After a nice
Dad and AsherDad and AsherDad and Asher

Helping in the kitchen
dinner at the sea, we watched a singer/guitarist perform and then went back to the hostel to hang out and party.

Friday, August 29
We walked ALL OVER the city today. We went through some different areas of town. One area, El Raval, was pretty cool because it was such a mixture of styles and eras of architecture. We didn’t really now where we were or which way we need to head, but luckily ended up in a really pretty park called Parc Montijuic. After consulting a map and figuring out where we were, we walked to the Olympic stadium area. The buildings there are beautiful, but it such a waste of space! I wish I could have seen it in 1992 during the Olympics, because there are a lot of fountains and lights and I’m sure it was a pretty cool sight.
I experienced paella for the first time for supper, but I don’t know if it counts because it was vegetarian. After supper we chilled out in our room for a while and then went to party with people from the hostel again.

Saturday, August 30
We made ourselves get up early this
Mom and IMom and IMom and I

On our way to the airport
morning because it was our last day in Barcelona. Frederike really wanted to see El Pueblo Español, an old area with lots of shops and handmade goods. We were talking to one of the shop owners, and she said that shop has been in her family for 3 generations. After El Pueblo, caught a bus to Parc Guill, where many of Gaudi’s works are. It was nice, but we didn’t spend much time there because Frederike was sick and I was tired.

Sunday, August 31
We woke up, ate, and packed our things to head to Frederike’s Aunt Sabine and Uncle Helmut’s apartment in Sant Antoni. They live 1 block from the Mediterranean, it was like a dream. Even though it was a little cloudy and cool, we hung out at the beach for the afternoon and then went back to the apartment for pizza and beer.
The rest of the week was pretty much the same. We would wake up, go to the market and buy some fruit and bread, eat breakfast, and then lay on the beach most of the day. A couple of the days it was really windy and the waves were huge.

Friday, September 5
Freddy and Helmut brought me to the train station in the evening, and I went back to Barcelona and spent the night in the airport. My flight was at 7:05 am Saturday, and the train didn’t leave early enough for me to be there on time. Sleeping in the airport kind of sucked, but I made it without any trouble. I will spend a night in Madrid and then head to Toledo with a group of students that will study at La Fundación with me.

Sunday, September 7
The group that I met at in Madrid was really fun, and my worries were put at ease for the time being. When we got to Toledo, we had lunch and then a tour of the school and orientation. At the end of orientation our host parents were waiting for us. I was kind of nervous, but everything went well. My host mother (Belén) picked me up and then I met the rest of the family at home. Belén is an elementary teacher, Angél is a special education teacher, Esteban is 14 and Angelito is 8. The boys were pretty shy, but everyone is very
FrederikeFrederikeFrederike

on the pier
nice and good about repeating things so that I understand.

Tuesday, September 9
Yesterday we had a longer orientation and signed up for classes, and then in the evening there was a welcome party. There were tapas, deserts, and a folk style band. After the little fiesta, we went to a bar for a little bit and then I headed home. Unfortunately, I was not sure exactly what stop I needed to get off of the bus. Belén had told me just to ask where the school that Angél works at is, and the bus driver sounded so confident that I believed her. When we got to that stop I told her it wasn’t right, and she said okay, there’s one more stop. When the last stop wasn’t correct either I looked at her and she said sorry, it’s the last stop, get out. I was a little scared, but some nice ladies gave me a ride home and everything turned out fine.
Today we started classes, and I realized how much some of these are going to suck until I understand more.

Saturday, September 13
Thursday night a ton of us from the Fundación
ErinErinErin

on the pier
went out to a bar and then a disco and we had a lot of fun. Friday morning we had a guided tour of Toledo, and I learned a little more about the city. I felt homesick for the first time yesterday, and I definitely hated that. It was expected, but I hope it passes quickly! Last night I went out with a few friends and got to know them better. I am glad to have met some really cool people from the school, and since we are all in the same boat it’s easy to understand each other.
Today I learned that I have a brand new niece, Eilee Marie. She was born yesterday afternoon (Duluth time) and I was informed that both the baby and Kari (my sister) are doing well. I wish I could be there, but luckily she won’t remember that I didn’t meet her until she was 8 ½ months.
Today is my host father’s birthday, and tonight we are having a barbeque and party for him. He promised me that he would teach me to drink wine and not beer this evening. We’ll see how that goes.

Sunday, September 21
Freddy and ErinFreddy and ErinFreddy and Erin

At the beach
The birthday party was fun, but kind of tiring. Everything was good until they would get into a debate, and then everyone was speaking really quickly and all at once. I learned that my host father has two daughters, also. They are both in their twenties and very nice. I also met Belén’s sister and brother-in-law, Gloria and Abel.
The rest of the week was pretty normal with classes and homework. Thursday night was the Romphielos dinner (icebreaker) at the school. There were different people from both the school and the community, and we could set up intercambios (where you pick a person and hang out for a while every week, speaking English for part of the time and Spanish for the other part). After some friends and I went to the bar with some of the locals we had met.
Friday was our excursion to Madrid. We left in the morning and saw the old palace of the kings (El Palacio Real de Madrid), had a bus tour, and went to lunch at the ham factory. Oddly enough we ate chicken and French fries. Then a few friends (Ashley, Karen, and Erica) and I stayed for the
Frederike and ErinFrederike and ErinFrederike and Erin

On top of some building. Precise, I know
night. We went shopping for a while, ate at a super good Cuban restaurant, and then went to a club, El Kapital. We had a ton of fun and danced all night, then got our hair done the next day before taking a train back to Toledo.



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

MusicMusic
Music

There were street musicians EVERYWHERE. check out the man with the washboard.
FrederikeFrederike
Frederike

Laying on a tree in Parc Montijuic
ErinErin
Erin

Waiting for lunch at El Pueblo Espanol.
FrederikeFrederike
Frederike

We thought the fallen horse sculpture was pretty funny. She wouldn't ride it for me, though.
BabiesBabies
Babies

What is this? It looks like a burning at the stake or something creepy.
FrederikeFrederike
Frederike

Catching some much needed rest at Parc Guell
BenchBench
Bench

Cool bench by Gaudi
FreekaFreeka
Freeka

Swimming by herself. We later realized that there were jellyfish and that's why no one else was in the water.
ErinErin
Erin

Hanging out at the beach some more.
BeautifulBeautiful
Beautiful

want to come?
FreddyFreddy
Freddy

Playing in the waves


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb