Is it just my imagination running wild and too fast?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
November 3rd 2005
Published: November 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So after my glorious time in Basque country, I headed down to Toledo. yes please insert a Holy Toledo here. There wasn´t much to do (I´m assuming thats why they named a place in Ohio after it) so I headed back to my hostel early (by the way, in another castel....i could get used to living in castels...) (without dinner because the restaurants opened at 9pm). Apparently, after speaking only Spanish for one week straight, I woke up in the middle of the night and started talking to my Australian roomate in Spanish! When she spoke back to me in English, I couldn´t find the words for either language. I think I have caused some brain damage! Then on my 2 hour bus ride to go 15 miles, I sat next to a little girl who LOVED me. She was soooo great. We spoke Spanish the whole time of course. I was hoping I had picked up a lovely Basque accent but sadly, i am pretty sure it was painfully American. And not to mention my Spanish is Mexican. But I am very reassured because in Barcelona when I spoke Spanish, everyone answered me in English. Now everyone is talking back
Lots of scenery Lots of scenery Lots of scenery

hope you like it
to me in Spanish!! woohoo. this is not always necessarily a good thing, espeically when i end up walking in circles because i thought i understood the directions... Also Could it be that they are answering me in spanish simply don´t speak english? hmmm...

ON the train I actually watched two movies. One where Denzel Washington had a phenomenal Spanish accent and another French movie in Spanish. This is what memories are made of people!!!

another thing to add to the conversation about mullets...since this is mullet country, they are a dime a dozen. BUT! you have to be fast. I saw a shaved head today with a tiny braid going down to midback. But just as soon as it came, it was gone. sorry to my bro who has requested many pics!

So i am about to go off on a huge tangent, so if you don´t care to hear, stop reading now. I am so beyond amazed at how each place is more fabulous than the last. How is it possible to keep being overwhelmed with such wonderful fantastic experiences!! How is it possible to find what you think is the best thing imaginable and then after one night train (without perverts of course) and bam you are in a new paradise! How is this possible!

A friend of mine asked if i ever get sad or lonely while I am travelling alone. The truth is, yes sometimes i do...i get a little homesick for my puppy, who yes i send postcards too and call on the phone! But to cope with these feelings, my magic trick is to just list all the things I am so greatful for...like all of you!

It is so bizarre for me that I can be soo happy when I haven´t even spoken my native tongue in a week!!! Just how many times on this trip can i be reborn? How can I be so sure of the direction of my life, and now all of a sudden I am back to square one! Aren´t i supposed to be a jaded traveller by now as I approach week 8?? I now have a new battle cry told to me by a very nice Spaniard: "CAPTURE THE MOMENT!"

Anyways, i am now in granada and since there is free internet in this hostel (hence the long update)
At the end of the dayAt the end of the dayAt the end of the day

my tour guide gave me a push
i will update soon!
muchos besos to all!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Lots of scenery Lots of scenery
Lots of scenery

hope you like it


4th November 2005

hmmmm
You sure are smiling alot in those pictures, who's taking them????????

Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb