In defence of Americans...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Ciudad Real
November 26th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I spent some of the best days I have had in Spain in the company of Americans. few foreigners and I were welcomed into their Thanksgiving celebrations, far from the U.S. and our families, we made our own international Thanksgiving. And I would just like to take this opportunity to apologise for all the times I have generalised about American stupidity, or ignorance or any other Stereotype that the whole world enjoys loading onto the U.S.A.

Apart from a certain girl from North Dakota who insisted on the being the exception that proved the rule, all the Americans I met this weekend were sweethearts. Warm, hospitable, funny, gracious, intelligent and open-minded, all of them able to be objective on their rather interesting reputation.

Now, Im not saying that I agree with alot of U.S. policy, but I would be horrified and offended if everyone judged me on the actions of Tony Blair and his government in these last 10 years. So, the next time I hear someone enjoying the usual slagging off of the American, I will probably think twice about whether its fair to join in.

Incase you need more convincing...
Although the U.S. government only gives. o.2% of its GDP to charity each year.........

it has promised $15bn to combat Aids/HIV over the next five years.

And, the American people far outshine their government in genorousity....
US businesses give $2.8bn every year
American charities give $6.6bn
the country's colleges give scholarships to foreign students worth $1.3bn.


Imagine all the good America can do...





Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb