First Day in the School


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santona
October 24th 2014
Published: October 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Once again, I got up early this morning. I got ready and headed downtown so that I could have breakfast and coffee before going to work. When I arrived, at about 7:30, nothing was open.. Apparently the cafes do not open until 8:30 around here, who knew. I got picked up at 8:10 because classes begin at 8:30. I met a lot of the professors and they are all incredibly nice. I feel bad because I will never be able to remember their names.

I went to three different classes today. Basically I just introduced myself, they introduced themselves, and then asked me questions. Of course every class asked me if I had a boyfriend, why I came to Spain, etc. There were some funny questions too. One of the students asked me if when my parents were gone, if I threw parties like in the movies. I answered maybe once or twice 😉. Another student asked me if the parties in the United States were like the parties in Project X. I wish.

School goes until 2:30 and there is no lunch break. By the time I got home I was starving but didn't have any food in my apartment and of course the grocery store is closed from 2:30-4:30. Instead of finding somewhere that was open, I went for a run instead. I followed the path by the ocean and about a mile out it leads to stairs that take you above the city. At the end of the path you not only have an incredible view but there are ruins that are in themselves incredible. Seriously amazing. I did a little research and apparently they were military forts built in 1689.

My first teaching lesson will be on Tuesday. I am going to be presenting on Halloween!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb