Santona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santona
October 23rd 2014
Published: October 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day one Summary:

When I got into Santander, Marisa, one of the English teachers at the school, was waiting to pick me up. She drove me the some 25 minutes to get to the school where the director of the school was waiting for me. He took me to his home to eat lunch (at 3pm) with his family. Without the two of them, that transition would have been very, very difficult. I can't even express how kind they were.

However, the place I was supposed to live isn't available anymore. The girl who lives their decided she wants to live alone. So, the director of the school has currently put me up in his friends apartment until we can find something else. All of the owners stuff is still here so it feels like I'm living in someone else's home. The guy was an English teacher and he left behind an abundance of Sci-Fi novels and comic books. They are literally in stacks ALL over the apartment. Once I finish all the books on my kindle (lets be honest that might be soon) I will probably have to move on to those.

I got to this apartment at about 3 yesterday. As exhausted as I was, I was dying to take a shower and take a walk to the ocean. I took a cold shower as there is apparently no hot water yet and got ready to head out. It took me about 15 minutes to walk to the water. The pier is beautiful and there is a nice path that would be perfect for running. Earlier, the director showed me where the grocery store was so I headed there to pick up a few things and ask where the nearest place with internet was. The lady either didn't understand what I was asking or there is no where in this town with wi-fi...

I got back to the apartment and laid down to sleep at about 5:30. I woke up every few hours and was up for around an hour each time and just read until I fell back asleep. Not having the internet sucks. So does being in an apartment alone and not knowing anyone in town.

This morning I got up at 6 because the director, his name is Fernando, told me he would be by to get me at 8. He didn't come. So, I went exploring into town. It is a pretty cute little place. Downtown is all walking, no cars allowed. All of the little cafes that were open seem to be bars by night, or Spain just really likes their vino. Anyway, I really like the town but I am not sure I want to live here. It seems a bit to small and as though it would be hard for me to make friends here. Fernando's wife told me that there would be more people for me to meet and things to do in Santander but I also love the atmosphere in Santona. We will see.

Fernando just came by and informed me he didn't come this morning because he wanted me to rest, which I was doing when he rang. He brought me a cell phone that I can call him and Marisa on which makes me feel a lot more connected. He also told me that he spoke with the English teacher at another school who knows people to introduce me to. If I understood correctly, there is someone teaching with her from Oregon too!



Sorry if these posts are boring but these are my current happenings 😊

Things I've learned so far:
1.) Do not try to use your blow drier. Spanish outlets cannot handle it. It will catch on fire and make your whole apartment smell very bad and also ruin the drier.
2.) When your apartment door does not have a door handle, you should probably ask how to open it so you don't have to spend 15-20 minutes locked outside trying to figure that out on your own.
3.) It is currently 7:30am and still pitch black outside... What time does the sun rise in Spain?!
4.) The world should have free wi-fi available everywhere. I feel so disconnected from home!
5.) In Santona, Spain, where I currently am, they are famous for anchovies.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb