Its the end of September/October N I'm still at the beach... BOO YA!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santander
October 9th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

my host family's sail boatmy host family's sail boatmy host family's sail boat

taking the sail boat out for the day was amazing!
So after now of living in Spain for a month, you'd think i'd get adjusted to the heat or the fact that its still 24 degrees outside and thats not even with the sun out. Nope!!

Just the other day we took my host family's sail boat out on the water. It was amazing. If you didn't know Santander is the coast for the Bay of Biscay and the Cantabrian Sea. So in the Bay there is a beautiful, white, silky smooth sand bar/beach with a small restaurant on it too. Only people with boats have access to this beach, therefore its a lot less crowded on hot days.

We took the boat to this beach and anchored. Did i mention how this was a Tuesday. Now if i was ever to boast about one the perks of this job.... it would be the time now!. 😊 The entire day we laid around on the beach, played in the sand, had lunch on the boat, tied up to my favorite host family's friend (Keino and Suzanna and there 2 little boys), swam in the ocean and then later went to another close family friends birthday party. At the birthday party for Dmas jr, all i really watch the kids around the pool and then i could do what i please. I could socialize with my family's friends who a lot of them spoke some to little english, or play with a bunch of the kids there (which i ended up playing basketball with 5 boys for almost 2 hours), or socialize with the other english au pair or even jump on the trampoline. Talk about an amazing day. I mean how many people my age can do this these sort of things for a day, have a blast, be in a foreign country doing so, get paid all of it and slowly learn a new language; not enough!

This opportunity is already far exceeding my expectations. I definitely realize I'm not only extremely lucky in the match i made with my Spanish family but also the choice i made to take the risk to do something like this.

To fly across the Atlantic Ocean on a gut feeling that this would work out with this family. To trust myself and just jump into this opportunity is something I'm proud i did.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

the boat anchoredthe boat anchored
the boat anchored

In the bay there is a private beach only accessible for those with boats. so it was perfect for this hot day.


15th October 2010
CIMG2155

flip flops
Love this photo!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb