Sun & Fun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santander
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SantanderSantanderSantander

Emmers & Me on the beach!
I went to a city called Santander last weekend, with my English friend Emma. I have to say it was one of the most fun times I've had since I've been here.

On Friday, I said to Emma, 'Do you want to do a spontaneous trip this weekend? No plans, let's just show up at the bus station, choose a destination & figure it out from there.' She said, 'all right.' So, that's basically what we did! I've always wanted to do something like that.

We kind of had an idea that we wanted to see Santander. It's a city on the Northern coast of Spain & is right on the ocean. They have famous beaches & the ferry that goes between Spain & the UK departs from there.

It was the best! We caught the train at 9:30 on Sat & show up in Santander, no reservations anywhere. We stumble to the 1st Pensión that we see, Pensión Angelines & they happened to have a double room, shared bath, available for 15 euros per person per night. We were like, 'Sold!' It was simple, but clean.

We went & had an amazing meal of Tapas for
ShellsShellsShells

Me, picking out shells!
super cheap, some beer, then headed off to the ocean. Magnificent. That's all I can say. Wonderful.

Too cold to actually swim, but we waded in the water all day & walked up & down miles of beach, sat on the beach in the warm weather, reading & I, of course fell asleep. No sun burn, though! Guess after years of experience I've learn to lather myself in sun screen.

We got up the next morning to discover that the weather had turned on us, so we explored the flea market & the outside of the cathedral, wondered around the town & took the 1st train home early that afternoon.

It was a great weekend! i would be happy to repeat it.

Going to try to include some pics that emma put on facebook of our adventure...If anyone comes to visit me, I know where I'm taking you!

Besos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb