Santander


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santander
October 14th 2022
Published: October 14th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Promenade Promenade Promenade

Lovely view to the mountains
I decided to stay a second night at Camping Virgen del Mar. I spent an easy day exploring Santander and getting together the last few bits and bobs I need.

First priority was to book the train out of here. I managed to struggle through in Spanish. Explained what I wanted, it wasn't pretty, but it worked. Maybe in four weeks time I'll be a bit more refined So me and the bike are now booked on the 0714 train to Quintanilla de Los Torres. Gonna be an early start. My alarm is set for 5.30am as I really don't want to miss it.

That journey will take me pretty much through the Picos de Europe and avoid a lot of climbing. I'll save that for another time. From there I'll head towards Alar del Reys and hopefully pick up the canal path I was told about yesterday.

Santander is a nice coastal city. You could easily spend a week here I'm sure and I intend to sometime There's a lovely promenade along the shore and some golden sand beaches in the city limits.

I passed numerous interesting looking bars where the locals were enjoying the pinchos. I would have loved to stay in town for a bit this evening, but for once I'll be sensible.

I did try to check out the cathedral but it's closed for renovations.

On my way back towards the campsite I came across a small march along the promenade. It was young people showing their support for the EU and Erasmus in particular. They were supported by a couple of very good brass bands.
They were all marching close together so I couldn't understand why they didn't just play the same tune as each other. Really good humoured crowd. I got a bit to close and was handed a little EU flag. Maybe it'll come in handy some day.

It was almost dusk by the time I got back to my tent. Just enough light for dinner and to do as much packing as I can to save time in the morning.

Buena's Noches.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

street escalator street escalator
street escalator

We could do with a few of these in Derry.


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb