Day 20 Monday Puerto Rico


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Gran Canaria
February 9th 2010
Published: February 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monday morning and since my shoulder whilst still hurting seems to be starting to improve I decided that today I would start on my some what postponed New Year exercise regime. I sneaked out of the bedroom and into the lounge did some squats, lunges and calf raises, fed the cat and then set the table for breakfast.

Today we decided to take the bus up the coast to have a closer look at Puerto Rico. Fired up from yesterdays junk food and my talk of time shares, Dee armed herself with copies of her CV and steeled herself to approach likely work locations. Things did not start well when she spoke to a helpful and friendly girl in the tourist information who advised her that you needed a degree in travel and tourism to work in the Tourist Information Centre (and that would be why?) and that all jobs were advertised through the Employment Office (which we had already been to).

Looking around Puerto Rico our initial impressions gleaned from the passing bus turned out to be somewhat optimistic and it transpired that just like Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas Puerto Rico is just one big hotel complex interspersed with a few greasy restaurants, tourists supermarkets and tat shops. None of which looked in any way appealing when it came to the prospect of work.

Pretty much down heartened before we had even begun we decided to take a walk down the cliff side promenade to the beach at Playa de Cura (the next town along) for Dee to take a dip in the sea. Although overcast the day turned out to be extremely warm and the beach was another vision of my complete nightmare with wall to wall people baking like stranded whales in the mid day sun. Still after weaving between the lines loungers down to the sea shore, we managed to find a small spot to ourselves and while Dee proceeded to take a dip, I consoled myself by trying to spot any remotely attractive bikini clad women from among the hordes of burnt to a crisp tourists.

Not wanting to venture out too far on her own Dee persuaded me against my better judgement to done my trunks and venture into the water only for me to find that far from the balmy warmth I had hoped for it was tepid at best and I could venture no further than my waist for fear of hypothermia.

Compulsory wetting completed we ventured further up the coast took in some waves and a lone surfer and then returned to the bus station via an ice cream and onto home.

Completing the day Dee watched a spooky movie in German and I tried to improve my brain by opening my GMAT study manual and taking the first 20 questions of the assessment test.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb