Donostia, Day 2


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
July 13th 2005
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Donostia from Monte IgueldoDonostia from Monte IgueldoDonostia from Monte Igueldo

I consider San Sebastian an oasis of clean, calm beauty. By Spanish standards, this place is spotless.
The original plan for the day was to visit Bilboa. That didn't happen, in good part due to a bit of a lie in. Hence, it's been another very lazy day.

I did make my way up Mount Igueldo, albeit by funicular, and enjoyed some pretty spectacular views of the town. You really see just how packed the beaches are when you look down and behold what looks like an army of ants crawling all over the place. I made a point of visiting Eduardo Chillida's "Peine de los Vientos" (Comb of the Winds). The sculptures are interesting, but don't really fit in. I guess you really do have to see them (as recommended) when it's raining and storming. Apparently, subterranean fissures cause the entire area to howl when the wind kicks up. I really wouldn't want to be there in that case.

I talked a bit with a local, and he explained that Donostia (San Sebastian) gets a LOT of rain. It's mainly nice during the summer, but it still rains occasionally, and when the weather turns sour, what I had initially thought was rather lackluster surfing becomes pretty intense 6' waves. In other words, there's a reason
Peine de los VientosPeine de los VientosPeine de los Vientos

They look really different on a calm day compared to the pictures you see of them. Oh yeah, this is one for the photoshop pile when I get home.
for the 3 metre high seawall running along the beach: the whole waterfront gets pounded when the weather is bad.

I'm probably going to call it an early night today to make sure I don't give a repeat performance of my lie-in tomorrow. I'm the only one in my room (of 5 beds) right now. Apparently, almost all the people Busabout dropped off headed to Pamplona. It's the last day tomorrow, and a few people actually suggested I go again. After a few moments consideration, I decided that risking my neck once to get friendly with some bulls was more than enough. Hence, Bilboa is back on the itinerary, and hopefully, I make it this time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Abducted Sedimentary Rocks?Abducted Sedimentary Rocks?
Abducted Sedimentary Rocks?

There are some really interesting looking formations at the base of Monte Igueldo. My geography teacher would have a field day there, literally.
Kursaal Conference Centre by SunsetKursaal Conference Centre by Sunset
Kursaal Conference Centre by Sunset

Rafael Moneo's creation on prime realestate oddly doesn't look out of place.


30th July 2005

Donostia- I love it!!
I love it so much i go there every year and get served.... and im only 15!!

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb