San Sebastián is amazing


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
November 29th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I really should be studying right now. But I just know you are all dying to see my gorgeous pictures of San Sebastián.

Well, let me first give you a little advice . . . when taking a train always get there on time (I learned this MANY, MANY times as I tend to go stay out too late the night before a departure OR just get on the wrong metro . . . those things each only happend once I promise . . . ) Anyway, besides having to get to the train station on time, you also have to guess what train it is. Now, I now you might think is says what train it is on the ticket, and it does. But in some places like, SPAIN for example, what it SAYS and what it actually is are two different things. For example, our train ticket said Charmatín (a place in Madrid) to San Sebastián arriving in SS at 7:52 AM. The train was actually to Bilbao or Hendaye or some other crazy Basque city. Okay, we dealt with that, whatever, many, many stops on the train and S.S. is just one of them. Now what we
Look at me I am in a tunnelLook at me I am in a tunnelLook at me I am in a tunnel

I really loved this mountain. It had a lot of ETA graffiti. Just kidding. It was actually really beautiful and had some great little spots.
weren't ready for was having to sit and watch every train stop once we were getting close to S.S. to see where s.s. was and jump off the train quickly before the train started moving again. You see, they don't actually announce any of the stops. Ever. You just have to guess. You would think that would be easy considering it says the time of the arrival on the ticket. But as most things Spanish tend to occur, we arrived in S.S. two hours later than when we were supposed to, and we only knew where it was because we asked some security guard. (these security guards really have no purpose other than wearing little neon vests and pretending to secure as they sleep on the train comfortable and casually because THEY know when to get off.


Anyway, being confused for two hours and almost getting off and various random stops did not stop us from seeing the beautiful beachs and sights in S.S. I will let the pictures speak for themselves. What did we do in S.S. ? Absolutely nothing, and it was great, well absolutely nothing aside from sunbathing, hiking, wandering the great Basque town, making hostel friends, playing cards, buying cheap boxed wine and drinking a lot of it, with Fanta of course, confusing the guys at the hostel because we weren't very attentive to the game of Texas Holdém, we did go to church!, and hmmm. . . oh yeah eating chocolate and ice cream and calamari and TAPAS!

Hasta luego 😊

(now I must study 😞


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Jesus on the mountainJesus on the mountain
Jesus on the mountain

I should know what this mountain is called, I think Urgull? Oh funny story, Kelly and I convinced ourselves that the famous mountain (which is in Rio Janiero) was in S.S. Further proof that traveling makes you CRAZY
Kelly and IKelly and I
Kelly and I

We travel great together.
Kelly and I and beachKelly and I and beach
Kelly and I and beach

All together in one big happy picture
Me Me
Me

On the beach or at the beach or on the wall over looking the beach . . .
MountainsMountains
Mountains

These were GREAT
Aww, in the darkAww, in the dark
Aww, in the dark

I LOVED the scenery here . . . I will probably go back soon and work at the hostel we stayed at, I cannot wait!
ECHEVESTEECHEVESTE
ECHEVESTE

This is my kind of flag
Hostel friendsHostel friends
Hostel friends

So we made a lot of friends here. It is wierd how you can meet someone one day and be best buddies the next day and then never see them again. :( This picture includes Ira (American), Me, Kelly and Dom (British, English? I don't know what is PC)
Other friendOther friend
Other friend

This one is from Argentina. His name is Santiago. He is an architect and is living in Madrid right now. He says "como te chamas"


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb