Markina to Gernika Day 5 25K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Lezama
May 4th 2017
Published: May 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

4th day on the Camino was better than the 3rd but not by much. This mountain stuff is really taking a toll on the ankles, it's a constant straight up and straight down. That along with trail's that is in poor condition. The Camino from Markina to Gernika is up and down again with 900 meter assents and declines several times. The area has been clear cut with large equipment mucking up road with ruts and mud. The scenery is really just OK, and the fact that the trail requires constant vigilance not allowing much chance to enjoy any view. I would skip this section and take a bus had I know this. In addition I have developed a walnut size swelling just above my ankle which is really painful especially when going down. It's a NASTY shin splint. That should be enough to make day 4 suck, BUT wait theres more! I finally get to the opening where I can see Gernika, yes! The Camino comes to a 3 way intersection where the sign clearly shows left while the town is to the right. Being a dumbass I follow the sign as opposed to my nose. 40 minuets later I ford two creeks to get to the highway where its 3k more to town, instead of .6k from where I was at! So soaked shoes all I trek into Gernika. I walk to the middle of town to go into the tourist office and complain about the trail marking. Guess what? She knew about it! Some jerk turned the marker the wrong way. She said to me, "Could you not see the town?" Nice, thanks! Good news was the hotel was great, had a chance to soak the shin splint, much better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb