Premiere Dia en Espana!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Getxo
January 13th 2013
Published: January 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Let's just say I am exhausted! I began my journey at 4:30 AM Washington time. My flight from SEA-TAC didn't leave until 7:35 but it is suggested that you get there apparently three hours beforehand! Crazy, right? Anyway, from Seattle to Dallas I had an isle seat (which I despise), but was able to sleep most of the way, seeing that I was operating off of one hour of sleep! The five hour layover in Dallas was not to bad, I got in some reading and stretched my legs a bit. Let me just say, the Dallas/Fort Worth airport is WEIRD. By far the strangest airport I have been to.

From Dallas to Madrid was a long flight, fortunately it was an overnight flight so most everyone on the plane was sleeping. The guy I sat next to did not speak much English, but he was very nice regardless. Once in Madrid I was supposed to take a metro thingy to the gate; luckily there was a girl who recognized me because we had been on the Dallas/Madrid flight. We talked and she was from USAC too, but she was going to Alacante. A guy from USAC heard us talking and he was going to Bilbao so we stuck together and hung out for yet another five hour layover!

Boarding for the flight to Bilbao we met two girls who were in the USAC program too, they were going to San Sebasion (I apologize for spelling). I was going to try and get in some Spanish review on the plane but ended up falling asleep for the whole (one hour) flight and woke up from the jarring of the landing. In the Bilbao airport we met up with two guys who were also going to be in Bilbao! Needless to say I was SO relieved to have people who were just about as clueless as I was.

If you and I had talked beforehad, you would know that my biggest fear/worry about studying abroad in Spain was getting from the airport to my host family. This ended up not being a problem what-so-ever because they came to the airport to pick me up! They had a sign with my name and everything. =] The only down side is I realized how little Spanish I know, I felt bad and wanted to talk to them about everything, but I can barely understand what they are saying. 😞 I hope that tomorrow will be better!

Tomorrow is orientation and I will be getting there using the metro! I'm very excited.

But for now the bed is calling my name, buenas noches!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb