El Día de Independencia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As you all know, today is the 4th of July. You wouldn’t know it if you were in Spain, for obvious reasons. I had my second day of classes today. I’ve finally decided to take “Spanish culture and civilization” and “Spain in Europe.” Both are taught entirely in Spanish and I love it! After school those who singed up for an outing with a native student split up into groups and met our students. I have a girl who just graduated from La Universidad de Deusto who has lived in the Basque Country her whole life and, according to her, has no real desire to go anywhere in the United States besides Nebraska. When we asked her “Why Nebraska? ” she said that her friend is going there and that’s the only place she really knows. We suggested some better places for her to visit (No hard feelings, Nebraska.) We went to the old part of town (Casco Viejo) and had ice cream and awkward bilingual conversation. After stopping in a few shops, we went to a bar and had a glass of wine after which she headed for her apartment as we went to the dorms for dinner. Later, we had a little 4th of July celebration, again in Casco Viejo. Now I go to sleep, because my first class is at 9:00 (which is stupid.)

Hasta.

P.S. Sorry for the lack of pictures…but I haven’t taken any recently.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb