Chupitas Chupitas


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
February 5th 2011
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First Real Night Out



Last night was my first experience with the insane lifestyle of Spanyards. We got to this club en el paseo maritimeo (a street full of bars and clubs along the water) around 12-1 and I got home around 530 am and the club was still packed when I was leaving. Its absolutely wild.

I am falling more and more in love with this place every single day. It's amazing. The past few days have been 60 and sunny and hearing about the snow back home makes me feel even luckier. Spent the day drinking coffee at various patios (I am already addicted. Never drink it in the states, and now I can't stop.)

I've made some great and hilarious friends already, one of which has an apartment and went to culinary school and obviously loves to cook so I'm so so so excited to learn more from her. Also met such a sweetheart from the Netherlands who speaks 6 languages. Needless to say I felt like an extreme underachiever haha.

I start class February 14. Taking a spanish writing class, a Mediterranean culture class, a European culture class, and a class on women in spanish and latin american literature. No class on thursday or friday which is incredible. My school is about a 15 min ride on the metro from my house. It is surrounded by Mountains and olive trees, absolutely breathtaking. It's called la universitat de les illes balears. It's interesting because 50%!o(MISSING)f the classes are in castillian spanish (what I speak) and the other 50%!a(MISSING)re in catalan (the official language of the balearic islands) All mine are obviously in spanish because catalan is so hard to understand, totally different.

Tomorrow night an American Bar owned by two guys from NY is playing the super bowl. Keep in mind I am 7 hours ahead of the US so it won't start until around 2 or 3 am but a group of us are gonna go check it out!

Every day I see something that takes my breath away here. Found a spot with the most beautiful view that apparently has stunning sunsets so I'm hoping to check that out tomorrow night.

Booked my trip to Rome for the first weekend in March and I think Corey and I are hitting up Amsterdam the weekend before that. Absolutely can't wait

Love to you all.



Advertisement



5th February 2011

JEALOUS
THAT'S ALL. XOXOK3

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb