Day 3


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
April 22nd 2009
Published: April 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Showing Mission Control LoveShowing Mission Control LoveShowing Mission Control Love

Only MC tattoo in Mallorca
Happy Anniversary to us!
We spent the day in a perfect way cycling ourselves silly. Our plan which did not end up working was to cycle from Santa Maria to Manacor to buy Mallorcan Pearls. Let me clarify, Mallorcan Pearls are supposed to look just like the real deal but are painstakingly made in a factory with fish scales. I am intrigued so we decided that jewelery is easy to carry so it was the one thing we could shop for on the bike. On our way we planned on having lunch in Sineu. We were 1.8 miles down the road and realized that while we had some Euros in our pocket we did not have a credit card so Ed headed back to the room to get his wallet and told me to keep going, he would catch me and if he didn't I would wait for him after I climbed the hill into Sencelles. At first he told me to wait at the bottom of the hill. Ha!, no way I would pass up the opportunity to beat Ed up a hill if at all possible. I was feeling much better than I expected to today, I figured
MarketMarketMarket

Meat stand
fatigue might start by day three, but not at all, I felt amazing, it really was a wonder-twin power kind of day. As I approached the hill into Sincelles I kept peering into my mirror I could not see Ed in my mirror but I worked hard and made it up the hill, jumped off my bike and grabbed the camera, set it to Video mode so you can see Ed doing a short steep climb. If I am able to upload the Video you are in for a treat.

We then headed to Sineu for lunch, leaving Sincelle we both agreed that we were not really hungry so maybe we wouldn't eat there but at least we would stop to see the market which only takes place on Wednesdays. Well as it turns out getting to Sineu means a few mighty big hills, not mountains, but very respectable hills. Hills always makes me want to break
MarketMarketMarket

Candy
out into the Beverly Hillbillies theme song, so if it does you too go for it! Anyway after accomplishing the very respectable hills into Sineu- guess what- we were hungry. The very convenient thing about Mallorca is every town has signs pointing to the center of town. Ok, every town except Sineu. Well we followed people leaving with shopping bags and found the market. It was very cool, nary a Betty Boop T-shirt to be found. It had tons of veggies, fruits, cheese, honey, meats, candy, chocolate and some pottery. It did have a stand selling underwear which was a little out of place. Of course it is not really easy to buy things to carry on the bike so we did the smart thing, had lunch and a little chocolate which we did not have to carry. What did we have for lunch? Pa amb Oli of course, I was ready to order I had practiced the pronunciation and the good news is she understood what I said but she still corrected it, oh well. We had a lovely lunch although my least favorite Pa amb oli of the week, sorry Cafe Sabina. Their menu actually had pictures and
MarketMarketMarket

Olives, Olives and more Olives
Ed ordered by pointing and ended up with Pa amb oli with eggs, not what he wanted but ended up liking it.




During lunch we decided that Manacor is indeed tempting for the pearl factory but it is a very industrial town and not really a good way in or out for bikes, so we switched to Felantix and headed out. Let me just say the road to Filantix is amazing, smooth rolling hills. We road through Petra on the way and Ed was serenaded with me yelling Yahoo! every few miles. Actually it was more like Yahoooooooo! We arrived in Filantix and can honestly say we have found a not so quaint town. We stopped for our coffee, i.e. bathroom break at the Mallorcan equivalent to a pool hall. Clean bathrooms in case you ever find yourself in need of one in Filantix. Porreres, was our next town and we passed through with a little detour because of construction.
Chickens, John & BridgetteChickens, John & BridgetteChickens, John & Bridgette

Seeing the Chicken made me think of John, he likes them. Hearing the chicken made me think of Bridgette, she nails the chicken noise!
We ended up in an ally where a grammar school was letting out so we waded through kids and parents with our bikes. Montuiri was next on the map and we kept cruising. We headed towards Pina but picked up the Bike route back into Sincelle which meant that we got to go down one of my favorite hills. This time we found the bike path back to Santa Maria which I have to say it was a gorgeous ride. A perfect end to the perfect day of cycling. Ed is having a little hamstring pain, I still felt like the wonder-twin form of a hmmm, something fast yet happy. Hmmm as Annie would say strong like ox and fast like a puma.
Ed has calculated that I rode 66.5 miles and he did 70 because of the wallet we did not end up using.
We got to ride side by side into Santa Maria and we were laughing at how happy we both were to spend our anniversary cycling. In fact I could not think of a more wonderful day. So my sister asked me a couple of weeks ago what would I do if I had one week to live. Obviously spend time with, husband, children, mom and dad, and siblings. Second, cycle for one day in Mallorca.


To be sappy for one minute, don't worry, I will still yell about my husband to sisters, mom and friends, when he makes me mad. It has been a wonderful 14 years, we have done so many fun things and seen so many amazing places. Sometimes when I look back I can't really believe it is my life.

I am warning you that tomorrow we are not cycling. Well, maybe a quick 20 miles, but we have a list of things we want to see and shop that are hard to carry on a cycle. We will work in an hour hike to a great seafood place and I promise good souvenir to everyone back home who is expecting one, including olives for Angela.

Ok, I am working on the video option but stay tuned I am not there yet.
Also I have to point out that the man who had the chocolate stand spoke at least four languages, I can barely manage how are you in Spanish.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb