Day 2 Cycling


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
April 21st 2009
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, let me just say that even a little positive encouragement is all I need to keep blogging so remember, at least a few of you asked for it.

I have to backtrack to last night at dinner where we again tried to eat the breadbasket. There are two things in life that Ed hates, live music and having the chef visit your table. Now this is not meant to offend anyone who enjoys these things, but for Ed it is the equivalent to locking him in a room with snakes. Of course if the live music is Neil Diamond I think he would make an exception, Ed is a big Neil Diamond fan. So now you are thinking there was live music and the chef visited our table. No, the music was elevator versions of 80s hits but the chef did visit our table. He is actually a lovely young man named Felix who promised to make a clam and pasta dish after we told him we absolutely love mussels. I really hope that means we also love clams and pasta because I am pretty sure that is what we are having tonight. I will update you tomorrow. Ed just clarified that he actually hates people singing happy birthday in any restaurant more than the chef visiting your table. I stand corrected.

Let's get on with day 2. We had a slightly harder time getting out of bed this morning, not because of our sore legs but we are still adjusting to the time. We had breakfast and realized that it was pretty overcast so we decided to use the crummy weather to run some errands. I needed a camera cord for my computer so I can bore you in print and pictures. We also needed a much better map of the island for cycling, we needed one that shows every path and some arm warmers for me. When we slow down or the wind blows I was getting chilly. We got stuck in traffic on our way into Palma but after arriving we very quickly located the camera cord. Getting back out of Palma, the only city on the island, was equally frustrating. We went back to Binisallem for the map and arm warmers the man at the cycle shop informed us not only did they not have maps but had no idea where we might find one?? So we did what you would do in America and headed to the gas station and found a map. YEA!

Our start was late it was 1:40 before we were clipped in and riding but the day was now sunny and we decided to do a relatively easy 40 miles, we are not quite sure of the mileage but Ed is working on it as we speak. We have a great system, he plans everything and I plan nothing. He is also working on a killer ride for tomorrow. It happens to be earth day, our anniversary and my niece, Brooke and her husband's anniversary tomorrow. So that is our idea of fun, a killer day on bikes. Brooke if you are reading let me know what you are planning.

We headed via bike path and went to Consell and then Binisallem, we decided not to stop in Binisallem since we have been through quite a few times. I was following Ed through town and we had a large truck coming from behind on a narrow road so Ed put up his hand to signal that he was slowing, I didn't see the ditch and got a flat. Lucky me, so in fact we did stop in Binisallem. Fifteen minutes later after Ed very generously changed my tire, just kidding I changed it and Ed took pictures, he also barked at the little dog that was behind a fence barking at us. Very grown up!

We crossed through Sencelles which we have seen before so we kept going and made it to Algaida where Ed quickly pointed out a place to stop and eat, I said no let's find a better place. Because it is so easy for us to tell which is better. We did actually find the center of town which is the fun place to eat, kind of the cyclist see and be seen. We stopped at a place called Cafe Suc because it just sounded fabulous. Good News it did not suck. Ok, we are very go out on a limb couple. We once again had the specialty but this cafe changed it up a little they added cheese and it was hot. It was fabulous, in truth the food might be awful but after riding your bike it rocks!

After filling our tummies we headed to our destination which was Llucmajor, I had a very hard time even the downhills seemed to drag, it was hard, lots of up lots of down, not huge but still hard. As I was crawling up the hills it dawned on me that almost everyone you see cycling is a guy, in fact 10 to 1 guys to girls which got me thinking that maybe they come to get away from their wives. Which then got me thinking that maybe that is why Ed rides ahead of me, maybe he is trying to get away from me?! Then I realized, no that is just crazy talk. So we made it to Llucmajor and debated going on to the south shore, but I was still hurting from my ride into llucmajor and a little worried about the ride back to Algaida because we were doing a modified out and back. So on our way from Algaida to Llucmajor we noticed that you could sidetrack to the village of Randa, more importantly you could sidetrack beyond the village to the Monastery at the top of the mountain. I knew this what not in the cards for me, but since the whole trip was a Christmas gift from me to Ed and he is incredibly competitive I told him to go ahead and I would meet him on the Plaza in Algaida. When we parted we had make a blood oath that I would not leave the Plaza without him, nor him me.

I found the bike path back into Algaida, which might have been the most magical road I have seen since we arrived. I had an easy ride back to Algaida, where I promptly planted myself on a bench in the Plaza and did not move. I checked my watch so I would know when and if I should worry about Ed. I let him take the cell phone and told him that if he had any heart pains to call the hotel and have them call for help!

Ed is going to tell you how his ride went: I went up a big hill, I went down a big hill. I was feeling good, then I saw a one armed German man on a Mountain Bike doing the same thing. I then didn't feel as good.

Ed is a man of few words, as you can see, I am not. Maybe that is why it works. In honesty, it was a mountain and 5.5 kilometers up the mountain with switchbacks. Cheyenne, Ed is pretty sure even he went through a set of brakes on the way down.

Forty-five minutes later, I have not started to panic yet and Ed rides into the Plaza looking no worse for the wear.
We head home, I will not bore you with the towns previously mentioned. However, at Sencelle I convinced Ed to take another path home so we got to see the gorgeous village of Saint Eugenia, it has this windmill that looks just like the dutch windmills you see in pictures. It was a gorgeous, hilly but not crazy ride. We then turn for the last 7 kilometers home and true to form the wind kicked into high gear. I pulled in behind Ed and drafted home.
Ed has determined that is was a total of 45 miles for me and 51 miles for him. Thank goodness he cares enough to figure it out it makes me feel as though I have accomplished something.
Now we must eat.


Advertisement



22nd April 2009

how lucky!
your trip sounds amazing, so much fun! i'm here in iowa ridin in the boring scenery and wind. ugh.
22nd April 2009

Happy Anniversary
Have a Happy Anniversary....sounds like you guys are having a great time! Love the pictures..post more!!

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb