"Ferry"


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » Valldemosa
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When I heard ferry, my first thought was that thing you catch to Mackinaw Island. Just seats, all open, nothing to do but sit & watch the water.

Of course I understood these "ferries" would be an upgrade from that. After all many of them include sleeping quarters, have room for cars to be parked below, and have restaurants.

What I was not prepared for was that "ferries" are cruise ships that take you from Point A to Point B. These things are massive.

(Because I am late writing this, I will include my ferries both to and from Mallorca).

On the way there, we got in late but had a cabin for our group. 4 girls in one, 3 girls in another, and the 4 boys in one. I roomed with Steph & Sharon & even for the three of us, the room was very cramped.

Think college dorm in half with a bathroom the size of those in an airplane.

The ship didn't toss much and after a quick bite to eat, I fell asleep pretty quickly.

Our "ferry" from Mallorca to Barcalona was during the day, so no cabin, but this ship was decked to the 9's.

3 floors of seating; from lounge rooms, to fancy leather recliners in the 'movie room' (they played movies in Spanish the whole trip), to a deck top pool area.

I decided against swimming with some of the group (good thing too.. I guess some of the other passengers were not only letting their kids go in topless.. awkward.. but letting their dogs take a swim with them.. gross).

I instead lined up two chairs on the outside back deck & was able to watch the scenery as we jumped from island to island on our way back to the mainland.

The overall trips took about 9 hours, but were fairly pleasant as you could walk around and keep yourself entertained, unlike in an airplane.

This being my first time on a ferry, I was pretty impressed of what a nice journey it turned out to be!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



13th September 2011

Looks absolutely spectacular! ....
Everything looks so amazing ...and very elated to see everything is going as planned. KK is in Doc's Heart ...

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb