Unknown Destination?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » Palma
October 21st 2023
Published: October 21st 2023
Edit Blog Post

<button class="ms-Button ms-Button--action ms-Button--command is-disabled dwpQ_ root-446" style="border-width: 1px; border-style: solid; border-color: transparent; font-size: 12px; font-family: 'Segoe UI', 'Segoe UI Web (West European)', 'Segoe UI', -apple-system, BlinkMacSystemFont, Roboto, 'Helvetica Neue', sans-serif; margin-right: 6px; padding: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; outline: transparent; position: relative; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; border-radius: 2px; text-align: left; height: 40px; user-select: none;" type="button" disabled="disabled" data-is-focusable="false">4 attachments (11 MB)</button><button class="ms-Button ms-Button--action ms-Button--command dwpQ_ I7a1P root-304" style="border-width: 1px; border-style: solid; border-color: transparent; font-size: 12px; font-family: 'Segoe UI', 'Segoe UI Web (West European)', 'Segoe UI', -apple-system, BlinkMacSystemFont, Roboto, 'Helvetica Neue', sans-serif; margin-right: 6px; padding: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; outline: transparent; position: relative; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; border-radius: 2px; text-align: left; height: 40px; user-select: none;" type="button" data-is-focusable="true">Save all to OneDrive</button><button class="ms-Button ms-Button--action ms-Button--command dwpQ_ I7a1P root-304" style="border-width: 1px; border-style: solid; border-color: transparent; font-size: 12px; font-family: 'Segoe UI', 'Segoe UI Web (West European)', 'Segoe UI', -apple-system, BlinkMacSystemFont, Roboto, 'Helvetica Neue', sans-serif; margin-right: 6px; padding: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; outline: transparent; position: relative; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; border-radius: 2px; text-align: left; height: 40px; user-select: none;" type="button" data-is-focusable="true">Download all</button>Interesting from Inside Hook: I remember being a teenager in the movie theater watching <em class="x_ContentPasted0" style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', 'Segoe UI Midlevel', sans-serif; font-size: 17px; color: #2b2b2b; background-color: #ffffff;">Yes Man with Jim Carrey and Zooey Deschanel on the big screen. They’re at the airport, and they tell the employee at the check-in counter to book them on the next ticket out to <em class="x_ContentPasted0" style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', 'Segoe UI Midlevel', sans-serif; font-size: 17px; color: #2b2b2b; background-color: #ffffff;">anywhere. In that moment, they learn they’re going to Lincoln, Nebraska. What might sound like a lackluster destination on the surface turned out to be anything but. That flight to Lincoln was about the journey, not the destination. It was about being a “yes man.” That is the instantaneous moment that I, too, wanted to be a “yes man.” It sparked an inevitable desire. I wanted to travel somewhere without knowing where I was going.

Regarding who should be signing up for this type of trip, the answer is simple: people who are willing to be gently nudged out of their comfort zones. You’re never going to be pushed out of an airplane, per se, but you have to be okay with getting a little uncomfortable — like yodeling in the Austrian Alps in front of a group of strangers or pretending you’re on a catwalk when you’re actually on a via ferrata.

“This is about the memories,” Charlestein says. “This is about really unique experiences that you haven’t had before, and you likely won’t have again. To me, that’s the greatest gift, that I gave you an experience that you can share with your kids or your grandkids with a huge smile on your face.”
So, I did my own version of the mystery trip a few years ago. I ended up in Frankfurt with a few free days. After arriving from Athens, I spent the night in Frankfurt, and headed to the airport very early the next morning.
Without looking at the departure board, I decided to choose the third column, fourth city up from the bottom. When I looked at the board, the destination at third column, fourth up was Mallorca, Spain. Had I chosen fourth column, third city up, I would have been in Kiev, Ukraine, as I recall.
I bought my round-trip ticket to Mallorca, booked a Marriott Courtyard Hotel (on my phone) in the capital city of Palma, reduced my luggage to a carry on, and waited about an hour for my flight. I also had to check Covid restrictions, and do a quick "intro to Mallorca" on google.
My seatmate on the plane was a resident of Mallorca, and told me I would enjoy the island, the food, and the weather. Judging from the demographics of the passengers, mostly younger people (under 40?), it seemed like I made a great choice.
Though I expected the island to appear a bit more green or tropical, it was nonetheless very Spanish in appearance, and sunny with cool ocean breezes. I grabbed a taxi to the center of Palma, passing by many impressive landmarks, with the Mediterranean Sea on my left. I kept hoping I would be close to the water.
Two blocks inland, I saw the Courtyard, and checked in early. I headed out on foot for a light lunch and the got the lay of the land. To my great surprise, the boulevard alongside the hotel was lined with outdoor cafes and restaurants. I found a table at a quiet place and enjoyed a light lunch with a cold Spanish beer.
With no particular destination in mind, I walked to the beach, taking some photos, passing some rather dubious looking massage parlors, and starting to regret my mystery destination. But upon returning toward the hotel, I decided to explore in another direction.
I found a market, bought some water and snacks, then kept going down a very nondescript and narrow street. In another block, I found the big indoor food market that Mallorca is famous for. I hit the jackpot of food and drink!
As I wandered the mostly empty stalls and cafes, I realized it was still late morning in Spain. But I decided to shop, have a beer, and see what would happen. Suddenly, about noon, the crowds arrived. Every seat in every cafe was filled with locals. The place came alive!
I soon realized that I could buy Iberico ham, the prized black hoof jamon that is fed mostly acorns. I bought two large packages, one for me, and one for my old travel buddy, Mr. Mike. I ended up sneaking them home in my luggage, since imports are not allowed here.
Anyway, I made a mental note to return, but found out the place closed at 3pm!
Undaunted, and with my trusty google maps, I found a few bike tours leaving from the city center, about four miles away. I caught an Uber to the area, got lost a few times due to the meandering city streets, and found the shop. Better yet, there were only three of us on the ride, with a local guide, ebikes, snacks, and water. Needless to say, it was both fun and informative, as we hit all the highlights of Palma. We also stopped several times for refreshments and snacks. What a great afternoon!
As I made my way back to the hotel, I met some fellow golfers, who invited me to join their foursome tomorrow for a charity tournament. While I had to skip the golf, I joined the cocktail party at the hotel for happy hour. Or maybe it was happy hourS! Little did I realize my last meal was over 8 hours ago.
One of the golfers told me to go across the street, to the rather plush, high-end restaurant that I saw earlier. He told me to sit at the bar, drink and order some tapas. When I arrived, no patrons were there. I picked a choice spot at the bar, ordered some Cava, and some tapas. Within an hour, both the bar and the restaurant were packed! By the time my dessert arrived, I was politely asked to give up my seat at the bar.
As I headed back to the hotel, every outdoor cafe was packed, and quite loud with music and laughter. I thought about a nightcap, but I realized my consumption for the day had been more than enough. But when I reached the lobby, my golfer friends insisted on showing me a few local hangouts. We jumped in two cabs and headed back to the city center.
Things like this always seem to happen when you least expect it. A group of eight drunks is quite a scene, even in the bars and nightclubs of Mallorca. We hit the first place and tried some type of Spanish hooch party punch. I think it was mostly Spanish brandy, which I normally enjoy. We quickly went across the street to an even busier, louder, and crazier place. Another party punch, and I realized it would be my last one for the night. I decided to sneak off on an Uber and get back to the hotel.
I hate to think how those guys would feel in the morning. In fact, I saw several down at breakfast the next morning. And most looked much worse than they felt. But a nice clean golf shirt and a shower does wonders for a hangover. They made one last appeal for me to join them, but I had a flight to catch.
Yes, it was quite an experience. The guys enjoyed hearing my golf history, places like Pebble Beach, St. Andrews, Valderama, Bandon, Torrey Pines, Whistling Straits, Pinehurst, and a visit to the Masters in Augusta. I never expected to drink that much, nor meet such a friendly bunch of people. I guess I expected a sleepy little Spanish island, catering to tourists, with expensive hotels and restaurants.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb