Huesca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Aragon
June 19th 2022
Published: June 21st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Huesca is a lovely little Spanish city that's worth a day or two. I stopped here because I thought it was at the end of the train line, but it apparently continues to near the French border. Regardless, it was a perfect jumping-off point into the Pyrenees.

I needed trekking poles but it was a Saturday when most stores were closed. The owner recommended somewhere a 15-minute walk away, near the park where I found pull-up bars and heard a mandolin warming up - an all-guitar group’s first performance in 3 years. And it was free so I watched it. [youtube=
]

On Saturday night the streets in Huesca and probably every other Spanish town are filled with tables. I still had to walk around for 15 minutes to find an empty one. Children played in the open spaces while their parents drank wine with friends. Teenagers walked around freely, hanging out at ice cream shops and revisiting their parents every so often. Thinking of how polar opposite this is to American culture, this scene made me sad.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb