Modern art & the local beach


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
September 11th 2010
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Out my window01 Out my window01 Out my window

Part of the Church of the Holy Martyrs which was outside my hostel window.
Geo: 36.7197, -4.42003

It was time to neatly pack my bag and check out. I had an 8:30pm flight back to London tonight. I put my bag in the left luggage room and we set off. Eva and I began the day with a visit to the Centre of Contemporary Art. On the way we walked through the food market- yum, yum! The modern art gallery was great- air conditioned, free, interesting and just the right size. Some interesting highlights were the room full of busts and the Andy Warhol pieces.

After that we walked to the beach- Malagueta. I felt that I have done so much walking the past few days! It took us about 20 minutes to get there. It was an okay beach. We did some sun baking for a while.

I said goodbye to Eva and then I went back to the hostel for an early dinner and one more vino de verano. I caught the bus back to the airport and looked forward to returning to London and seeing Paul. My trip to Andalucia has been fantastic and am so glad that I did it before leaving the UK.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

02 Church Tower02 Church Tower
02 Church Tower

The tower of the Church of the Holy Martyrs.
03 Out the window03 Out the window
03 Out the window

The small square between the hostel and church.
04 Entrance 04 Entrance
04 Entrance

The entrance to the church.
05 Above the entrance05 Above the entrance
05 Above the entrance

Above the entrance to the church.
06 Many busts06 Many busts
06 Many busts

Many busts made of clay by Gavin Turk.
07 All Jaw07 All Jaw
07 All Jaw

This head has a huge jaw.
08 Punched08 Punched
08 Punched

A serious punch to the face here.
09 Martini glass09 Martini glass
09 Martini glass

This sculpture has a Martini glass rammed into its head.
10 Funny 10 Funny
10 Funny

A funny looking face.
11 Squished11 Squished
11 Squished

A squished face.
12 Reflections12 Reflections
12 Reflections

Sort of like a big mirror ball.
13 Close up13 Close up
13 Close up

A close up of a piece of art made of many pieces of ribbon.
14 Ribbons14 Ribbons
14 Ribbons

A piece of art made of many coloured ribbons.
15 Andy Warhol15 Andy Warhol
15 Andy Warhol

Rebel Without a Cause, Blackglama and Volkswagon.
16 Diamond Dust Shoes16 Diamond Dust Shoes
16 Diamond Dust Shoes

Lots of glitter, created by Andy Warhol.
17 Leading up17 Leading up
17 Leading up

A display of burnt books leading up like steps.
18 Burnt Books18 Burnt Books
18 Burnt Books

A close up of the burnt book artwork.
19 Little Beach19 Little Beach
19 Little Beach

Me in front of the sign indicating the beginning of the 2.5 kms of artificial beach.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb