Mi Vida Española


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
October 6th 2006
Published: October 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola y bienvenidos a mi ´blog´!

this blog isnt going to nearly as fascinating and addicitive as my Asia one (ha, as if that one was! hehe) but i just want somewhere to share my thoughts while building a new part to my life in this very foreign place. and ofcourse share the photos.

so! what has this new page in my book brought me? well, i´d love to say its all been one sweet, enjoyable path of visiting tapas bars, drinking rioja and meeting young spaniards, but no. ofcourse there has been that but also a lot of stress at the beginning when i was living in a youth hostel for 5days searching the city with Pauline and Sophie (two other erasmus gals, one french, one german) for a flat, or ´piso´ as theyre known here. those first few nights were a strange mix of feeling excited at this new city i found myself in, making sure we were out every night and eating at different tapas bar and drinking wine at different bodegas, and a feeling of being lost, not being able to fully let go and enjoy because every minute not looking for a flat meant that someone else (among the 1000+ erasmus students) would be taking my opportunities.

that feeling soon dissapeared when, after trailing through some serious dumps, i got a call from a friend of a friend saying two french guys needed someone to share there flat, and BINGO! the flats lovely, with a huuuge roof terrace and a lovely biiiig double bed in a biiig room all to myself 😊 Simon and Laurent are very cool too, my first night in the flat (last tuesday) they took me to a house party on the roof terrace of another few foreign students...there i met a crowd that make me smile just to think of, theres Sam, a wideboy like never before, french, but who somewho thinks he´s italian in his big sopranos manerisms, emilio, a dreadlocked italian, Davide, another floppy haired frenchman who´s over often and a host of other germans, italians etc. so we´re out and about most nights, with sophie and Pauline,and Soph´s german friend Ferdinand.

with being settled i could also get into Uni and i´m well and truly loving it. the main building, where my department is is really old and beautiful and there are never more that 20 people in my classes. my two favourites are ´geography of the arab world´ and ´infrastructure and servicies in Andalucia´both of which are taught by a lovely fatherly man who makes me feel so with it and takes his time with me as a foreigner, and even though i´ve never studied in spanish before, i find i´m understanding 90% of his lessons. i also have spanish lessons which are bringing my spanish along in leaps and bounds.

hmm....not loads else...too many nights of being out around town have blurred together but i´ll say just one thing, if you ever need a break from the rain in london pop over here and i´ll give you the spanish equivalent of a backrub with the array of chorizo, gazpacho, calamari plates around, and ofcourse the wine flowing against a flamenco backdrop. when we´ve indulged in those bits i´ll whisk you off to the beach and we can laze in the golden sun...hot til november 😉

cmon...you know you want to....

Kxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Pauline,katy and Sophie with the BrasiliansPauline,katy and Sophie with the Brasilians
Pauline,katy and Sophie with the Brasilians

is that stangely shaped belly a sign of whats to come? never could say no to good tapas! or one euro cerveza for that matter :)
Casa PeralCasa Peral
Casa Peral

My favourite wine bar in Triana
fiesta a la terrazafiesta a la terraza
fiesta a la terraza

katy, silka, laurent and simon at Sam and Emilio´s pad...with the cathedral posing in the background


7th October 2006

Sevilla here I come!
..... waaaaah! I am so excited about coming to visit...! it is cheering me up in grey old london no end. Your photos are cool- looks like loads of lush people... (a few hotties too!)... but of course the food is more distracting than the boys for me ... mmmm... ham.... xx SEE YOU IN A FEW WEEKS! Hope it's still hot!
23rd March 2007

HEEEEEEEY
I MOVE FROM MEXICO CITY NOW IM IN LEON GTO NICE U SPICEBLOG!!! ALEJANDRO

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb