¡Tengo whiskey en mi cuerpo, pues no tengo vergüenza!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
June 25th 2011
Published: July 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1. Mmm...1. Mmm...1. Mmm...

Salad topped with chicken, yum.
July 17, 2011: I'm not very good at keeping this thing updated, it would seem. Also, I keep forgetting to take photos. I think that once you get into a routine somewhere, you don't think about how it's not going to last forever and that you (or some of your friends) will be leaving soon. (This language study thing is, actually, pretty depressing.) Anyway, I've clumped the last two weeks of my trip into this post. I'm really upset with myself for not taking more photos. I guess it's because Venessa & I were just hanging out most of the time; not touring anything. Boo, I forgot that "just hanging out" is special when you have only 3 weeks with someone. :/


The first few photos are of my hunt for the Sevilla football stadium. Javi (our cultural program guy) told me what bus to take, but I am no bus pro so, I ended up walking all over Sevilla in the sweltering heat looking for the bus stop. ¡Que asco me dió! I just don't know how to read a map, it seems. Anyway, I eventually DID find the bus stop and rode it to the stadium. It's really huge/impressive, but in the end a guy in the official shop told me that you can only tour it during football season. Meh.


On another day, Venessa & I decided to, finally (we'd talked about it for ages), go see the Cathedral. I think that she said it's the 3rd largest in the world. It was amazing, but I'm afraid you don't really see that through my shoddy photos. By the way, I had a bit of tourist shame so, if a photo is blurry, it's because I moved my camera too quickly to put it away. (Or we could just say I was being artsy.)

We, also, decided to go up to the top of the tower and get the bird's eye view of Sevilla. On the way up was rough and in my head, I kept hearing "Eye of the Tiger" (haha), but it was worth it. I had no idea that Sevilla was so big! I guess one tends to stick to the places they know the most and don't really have a need to venture out. Ah, but I really loved this city!


That Saturday (I believe), Venessa & I
3. Looking for trouble3. Looking for trouble3. Looking for trouble

A church, I think.
went to a bullfight because she had never seen one. According to wikipedia, the bullfighting ring in Sevilla is the oldest in Spain. It was pretty without a doubt but Jesus, the heat! We're poor American tourists so, we ended up paying for seats in the sun and sweated it out with the other poor tourists. This was fine and dandy until someone started booing. :/

Okay, the bullfight isn't my favorite thing in the world to watch and I don't want to watch anything die (man, beast, my cellphone...), but everyone knows that the bulls are going to die. Even if you don't know how it reaches that end, you know that you're not buying tickets to the circus. Anyway, Venessa really hated it, I think, and I tried to explain to her that a part of it can be really impressive/beautiful depending on the bullfighter. The bullfighters that we saw looked really young and, I don't know, I remember being more mesmerized by one of the guys in Valencia, two years ago.

Sin embargo, we were able to find (por fin!) un hombre guapo en Sevilla. Venessa had been told by her teacher that the bullfighters
4. Looking for trouble4. Looking for trouble4. Looking for trouble

A... I don't know.
would be gorgeous, but of course, we both had eyes only for the security guard, haha. He had stopped us on our way in because your'e not allowed to go in with the top on your bottle (I don't know why). Oh! Never in my life have I been so thankful to whoever created bottlecaps!


I didn't take many photos of my last week, which is a shame. We had gone to a club, where the school held a party for La Noche de San Juan and the end of classes for Spaniards studying at CLIC. Like idiots, we showed up on time and NO ONE was there. haha. Not wanting to hang around alone, we walked around the city and came upon a quiet little bar, where we (I, rather), harassed the bartender with all the stupid questions about Spain that I was too embarassed to ask Profe Guapo. He was a trooper, patient with my crappy Spanish, and didn't make me feel stupid for asking (which I can't say about otro hombre a la escuela que Venessa y yo le odiamos). It's a shame that we didn't find this place our first week there. It wasn't
5. . Looking for trouble5. . Looking for trouble5. . Looking for trouble

An old convent, maybe?
the fanciest, nor did it have a lot of people, but like Venessa said later, it could have been our Cheers.

So, three weeks later, I still really miss Sevilla. The heat was insufferable, but the school was incredible and Profe Guapo is possibly the best teacher I've ever had (Spanish, math, todo...). Ah, Sevilla. Nos vemos pronto. ♥

P.S. - The title is in reference to our last night there. haha, great times were had. We even made a list of people that we wanted to fight. Oh, God! How I love that girl! Mi hermana de otra madre (?).


Additional photos below
Photos: 145, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

6. Trouble found.6. Trouble found.
6. Trouble found.

The football stadium of Sevilla Fútbol Club
7. Trouble found.7. Trouble found.
7. Trouble found.

The football stadium of Sevilla Fútbol Club
8. Trouble found.8. Trouble found.
8. Trouble found.

The football stadium of Sevilla Fútbol Club


Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb