First Post :)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
November 10th 2009
Published: November 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

I have no idea what I'm doing on this thing, but I'm sure in the hour or so before bed calls, I can have plenty of fun playing around with it!

Seville. Is. Awesome. Pretty much sums up life here. Granted, not enjoying 9am starts every Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday (except when we have bank holidays...which over here is like every 2 weeks!), nor am I particularly fond of the really sleazy drunk spanish men. But apart from that, all is fine and dandy! The weather is still warm considering the time of year- 27 degrees (celsius!) today, but the mornings are freezing- as low as 12degrees on my way to Uni this morning (yes, I know the UK is colder. I have already put money aside to buy my own personal heater for my brief stint home!).

The tapas here is immense- found a really lovely place in the centre of Seville- had 5 tapas plus 2 drinks for 8euros (about £8). The service was slow, but was definitely worth the wait by the time the food had arrived! Also enjoying the sangria and tinto de verano (for those who are unaware of these two beverages, sangria is red wine, lemonade, and orange juice, sometimes with a bit of brandy, and lots of fruit, and tinto de verano is red wine and lemonade...I think...). Really cheap too- can pick up a bottle of 2L tinto de verano for about 87 cents here. Bargain! Beats drinking in the bars and clubs where drinks are about 8euros each. And entrance can be up to 10euros. Ridiculous. Having said that, I have yet to pay to get into a club, so shouldn't complain...

The spanish are lovely. When they want to talk to you. Lectures I pretty much talk no Spanish- I listen intently (usually with little success) to the lecturer, and manage to spend the whole lesson without speaking to another Spaniard. They don't really want much to do with you- it's an effort to talk to a non-native and they've already made their friends. I don't blame them, we'd be just the same in the UK, but not exactly helpful when it comes to learning the language. But when you do speak to them they are very nice people, and often go out of their way to help you. And are very patient when you speak the language.

Oh, and I started flamenco lessons 😊 Flamenco is HARD. But very good fun. It's very fast and trying to coordinate both the feet and the arms at the same time is pretty much an impossibility atm, but I'm working on it! Followed by a glass of tinto de verano and a montadito, truly experiencing the Spanish way of life! The only thing I can't quite do is stay up til 1 or 2 in the morning and then get up for a 9am. Just doesn't happen.

Rhia xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb