La vida española


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

La ropa de mi casaLa ropa de mi casaLa ropa de mi casa

Lola was sure to put the unmentionables somewhere fewer eyes could see. This is the rest.
I figured that once class started, things would start to pick up, and I was right. The days were going so slowly for awhile, but now I can't believe it's already Thursday, and I have so much to do! I should be doing homework right now, but updating this just sounds so much more appealing.

Today is laundry day again, which seems crazy to me because I never do laundry this often at home, but I'm looking forward to seeing my personal items on display for the building again. Last time Lola insisted I take a picture of everything strung across the clotheslines because all of her other students always wanted to document the occasion, and I happily obliged.

I think one of the strangest parts about being here is that seemingly uninteresting tasks suddenly seem noteworthy. When do I ever talk about laundry at home? Or, for example, toilets? I'm not sure why the architect of the university did not take into account that people have knees when designing the bathroom stalls, but it is practically impossible to find a workable position on those things. Maybe I'm missing something. Perhaps I should suggest a class on the subject.

Then there was the whole issue with the library. Apparently, things that appear open are not necessarily so, even if no signs are posted. I strolled in the other day with the intention of printing something, and about 5 people sitting behind the desk yell-whispered to me that they were closed until October 1st to do inventory and updates or something. What? It's the beginning of the school year and the library is... closed? I'm sorry, Spain, but some things about you I will never understand.

In other news, I've met some Spain-folk. ISA organizes an activity called "Salir con Españoles" (Go out with Spaniards) that generally occurs once a week, and I went last Thursday as well as last night. Last Thursday... was an experience. Somehow I ended up in the group with two guys in their thirties who took us all to a Lucky Strike "Private Smoker's Club." Basically, since advertising for cigarettes is banned in Europe (though I'm not sure what effect that has...) the cigarette companies have gotten creative. The bar is unmarked on the outside and you have to "become a member" to enter, and inside there are free drinks, video games, etc. etc. along with ads for cigarettes plastered all over the walls. It was, to say the least, an interesting experience, and we did not stay long.

Last night I had better luck, and it was actually a fun time. We went to a tapas bar, then to another bar with cheap drinks. Both we refreshingly free of tourists (well, unless you count us). I learned that "Tinto de Verano," which is red wine mixed with soda, is a very common drink, and similar to sangria, though for some reason the Spanish don't generally drink sangria, and tinto de verano is much more widespread. I'm also fairly certain that when I asked for sangria in restaurants a couple of times, I got tinto de verano. All good things to know.

I have two essays to write on long articles/ stories that I have not yet read, plus I am going to the "hippy market" (unsure of the actual name) this afternoon, so I will leave it at that. ¡Hasta luego!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb