Seville


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
December 23rd 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, seville was our last excursion with the program and I loved it. We first went to the Reales Alcazares, which is a palace built for christians in the arabic style. It actually looks very similar to the Alhambra in Granada and was the used as the palace in the movie The Kingdom of Heaven. It has a HUGE and amazing garden where a lot of couples go to do their wedding pictures.
We then had the rest of the day free and some friends and I went to the park of Maria Luisa. Its a huge park and some of our friends renting a couple big peddle carts to ride through. The rest of us just kind of ran around and exlored. It was pretty great. AND, there was grass that we could SIT ON! Wow! I get very excited when I see grass, it just isn't the same as home where I can sit in a patch of grass whenever I want!
Then we went to the Plaza of Spain. I really like it here because the tower was originally part of a Mosque that was destroyed. There's just a really big palace and lots of people out walking around. We just chilled outside and listened to some people playing flamenco and people watched. Then later that night we went grocery shopping and I cooked us some vegetable curry. Sweet! It was awesome to have a little kitchen in our hotel rooms. My friend and I just had a group of people over and we just ate dinner and talked. Quite relaxing. As we can't cook in our houses in Granada, I'm always very excited to have a chance to cook!
The next day we went to the Conjunto Arqueologico Italica and to the Monastery of Cartuja. The conjunto was very interesting because it is an ancient roman village with an amphitheatre and many beautiful ruins and mosaics. The Monastery was interesting because that is where Christopher Columbus had a lot of the plants he found in America replanted. So I got to see some Willow Trees and other trees tipical of the US.
I really loved it in Seville but I did have a very difficult time really enjoying it and taking advantage of my time there because I felt overwhelmed by the fact that we were only there two days and I hated having to rush. Other than that though, it was an awesome experience. The weather was fantastic too!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Conjunto Arqueologico ItalicaConjunto Arqueologico Italica
Conjunto Arqueologico Italica

Inside the Amphitheatre
FootprintsFootprints
Footprints

There are feet walking into the wall and away from, to simbolize the return of a son from fighting in the wars. A giving of thanks to the gods for his return.


Tot: 0.443s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb