so tired...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
October 21st 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

carboneriacarboneriacarboneria

our night at our first bar... bad pic taken by stupid American girls that were there
Here goes for a long recap. I feel like I have a mountain of things to share. (Ok, that mountain phrase sounds a lot better when I was thinking it in Spanish... sorry)

When I got home from surfing, I practically immediately was thrown into bed with what I think and hope was the flu. I hope it was the flu because if it wasn't I know I am doomed to get it later. I am just so go go go here that I am pretty sure my immune system won't be holding up against anything. So I was in bed, not going to school for two days. I have never so fully utilized sick days. I mean I literally could not get out of my bed. I did walk to the pharmacy and the store to get orange juice, but that was necessary and I am pretty sure I looked like a ghost to the people on the street. So I also didn't tutor last week. I really just was dying.

By Friday I was feeling better. We had classes last Friday because we had had Monday off for a holiday. What the heck is the point of
Aaahh.. the show at the carboneriaAaahh.. the show at the carboneriaAaahh.. the show at the carboneria

I forgot to mention the flute... that was really cool too
a holiday day off if you have recuperation classes the same week?? ugh... Oh well. Friday night, Antonette and I went on a mission to discover this bar we had heard about where they have flamenco shows that are really local. So... we went to find this bar and it was crazy because they don't mark the door with the name of the bar or anything. It is literally just this red door in a neighborhood. You have to know about it and know the address I guess. We went in and it was huge. There are huge like cafeteria style tables and an outdoor area and a huge bar. Then a tiny stage in the front. We got there just in time to get a drink and, luckily, find a seat before the show that starts at 12. There were two singers, a guitarist, and two dancers, one male, one female. It was amazing. I literally was smiling the whole time. They danced the sevillana which is the local flamenco dance, which is not actually supposed to be referred to as flamenco. This is the dance we have been learning in class. It was so fun to watch them with their own styles. It was just so fun and hilarious and beautiful.

Later, Antonette and I, of course, got ice cream on the way home. Then we went to bed super late.

The next day we slept in really late, had lunch, went for a run... Or run was so eeeww... I really should have waited longer to go running because I feel like it sent me like three days back into my recovery from the flu. Oh well. it felt good. Then we got all ready and went shopping. Antonette and I are officially way into utilizing every moment to discover something new lately. So we went shopping and looked at all the dress and shoe shops around. I tried on this like hippie frock that was so cute but it was 48 euros so no!! So that night we, of course, went to find a new secret bar that we had heard of from our security guard in the dorms. This one was even more hidden. It didn't even have its address posted on the building.

We went in and were a little confused, but decided we were in the right place. It was
shopping timeshopping timeshopping time

really expensive coffee place... oops... sorry to antonette's wallet
a lot smaller and more local than the other one we had been to. It was so crowded. You could not move at all. This time there were to guitarists and maybe four other men that all did stuff with their hands or with these wooden boxes they were sitting on while they sang. It was really fun. They sang pretty common songs. Then, what seemed to be random spaniards in the front two rows, started dancing sevillana. It was so funny and realllly entertaining. I definitely liked the first one better because it was way more chill (more room to sit and stuff) but it was exciting to just see normal people dancing this beautiful and COMPLEX dance.

That is enough for now so that this is not overwhelming... I will try to write again really soon because I have more to tell...


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

so we decided to get our money's worthso we decided to get our money's worth
so we decided to get our money's worth

... by sitting there for a long time taking pics
then we went on a random walkthen we went on a random walk
then we went on a random walk

to buy a hairdryer... Pretty
bar nights... part 2bar nights... part 2
bar nights... part 2

at the bar in Triana
crowded barcrowded bar
crowded bar

there are all the singer guys sitting in the back
closer shot with spanish ladycloser shot with spanish lady
closer shot with spanish lady

this was a woman in the audience who just got up and started dancing. She was so spanish looking
me outside the barme outside the bar
me outside the bar

pretty cute I think


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb