Sevilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
October 4th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woke up and I did not want to get out of bed (it was 5:45), but the thought of Sevilla got me up. I ended up leaving a little later than I wanted I got to the Metro around 6:45. When I got to Atocha, I found a ticket window and stood in line, but when it was my turn, the guy told me I couldn’t buy a ticket to Sevilla from that window, so I just followed a crowd and found another ticket window. I stood in that line, but the guy said something and everyone started leaving, so I went up to ask where I should go…he pointed, but I wasn’t sure where. I started walking and finally found another ticket window…pretty far away…the same ticket area that I bought my ticket to Barcelona. I stood in line for awhile and started getting nervous that I wasn’t going to make my time. When I finally got to front, it was already 7:15, but the guy seemed to think I could still make it, so I booked the 7:15. It took me a few minutes to find the departures, and when I did, it was already 7:20,
CathedralCathedralCathedral

I just like this angle.
then I had to go through security…another line…when I finally got to the train; I had 3 whole minutes to spare! Turns out, I got to sit in the seats with a table, but it was kinda awkward facing random strangers for the 2 ½ ride. I slept a little, but not much. We arrived in Sevilla, and I had no idea where to go, so I just followed the crowd. I found a bus stop and a bunch of people got on, so I decided to just follow the people that looked like tourists. The bus was so crowded none of us could move, but finally there was 1 stop where basically everyone on the bus got off, so I did too. I wanted to find a pastelería before I did any site-seeing, but I actually couldn’t find any, so I just went to this café. I had some chocolate cake with whip cream and café con leche. During breakfast, I read my faithful book to decide where I should go first. On the way to the café, I passed the cathedral, so I thought that would be a good place to start and it opened in about 10min.
La GiraldaLa GiraldaLa Giralda

The bell tower of the Cathedral
So after I left the café, I walked around the cathedral taking pictures…looking at all the horse-drawn-carriages…they were so cute. Then I stood in line to enter the cathedral…which is huge! just like all the others I’ve seen here. When I entered…again amazed by the ceilings and the hugeness of this place. I walked around taking lots of pictures (which I thought were really good, until I got home and realized they’re all fuzzy…boo). There was this courtyard with orange trees everywhere (Patio de los naranjos), but the oranges weren’t ripe yet, but still pretty. Also, at this cathedral, the ticket included going up the bell tower, La Giralda. It’s pretty tall, but surprisingly I didn’t get too tired going up, I think because they’re ramps, not steps. Back in the day, people used to ride horses to the top to announce prayers. At the top, you can see all of Sevilla, so of course I took pictures and videos at every edge and I got to hear the bells chime while I was up there. On the way back down, ironically, I bumped into Trisha and Travis from my classes at Eureka in Madrid! We talked for awhile, it
BellsBellsBells

I tried getting the bells ringing on video...but I was unsuccessful.
was nice to see them…I can’t believe 1. that we were both in Sevilla at the same time, and 2. that out of all the places to be and see, we were both in the cathedral, and the same point…at the same time…small world. After that, I headed straight across the street to the Real Alcázar de Sevilla, a royal palace. This place was amazing! I LOVED it. The building and architecture is exactly what I used to think of when I think SPAIN. It was a mix of Latino and Moroccan. The colors, tiles, details, arches, roofs, all. Then, I went outside to the courtyards and gardens…BEAUTIFUL. This is where I want to have my wedding ; )
Actually, I saw 6 weddings while I was in Sevilla…a very romantic city! After the palace, I was pretty hungry (I was there a really long time…it was huge, and so beautiful…so by the time I left, it was already 2:45). I walked around a bit, then found a place with tables outside and a menu of the day for 9€, so I sat down (it was a perfect day, really nice weather). I ordered this rice and sausage “appetizer”, some
A view from aboveA view from aboveA view from above

This was a view from the top of La Giralda
kind of fried ham and cheese thingys, rice with milk, and beer. All of it was pretty good, but I got really full, so I took one of those fried things with me and couldn’t finish the rice, but I have to say, I was impressed with the beer once I squeezed some lemon in it. I once again looked to my book. I saw that the toros ring had tours and a museum (at Plaza de Toros de Maestranza) that opened at 3pm on days when there wasn’t a match, like today. So I headed over there. There was a wedding going on so it actually didn’t open until 4, but after that lunch, it was nice to just sit down. At 4 I went inside and bought my ticket, it included a guided tour of the arena and the museum. The museum was neat, and I liked hearing some of the history behind the “sport”. I asked the guide a lot of questions, I found out that they do eat the meat of all those bulls that they kill, so that was a little encouraging. After the tour, I didn’t know where to go, so I just started
The Orange tree plazaThe Orange tree plazaThe Orange tree plaza

Here's the aerial view of the orange trees...with no oranges on them.
walking. I found a little market, Los Hippies. This was VERY small compared to El Rastro, but I just love these flea markets. I finally bought a fan, I see them everywhere in Madrid, but I want to buy a little something from everywhere that I visit, and I didn’t know what else to get from Sevilla, plus, Sevilla is very big on Flamenco, so it works. After my little shopping, I walked some more, I wanted to go to this park I read about, but it was pretty far away, and I didn’t know what direction to go. Eventually, my feet hurt so bad, so I stopped at a little park and I was able to talk to my parents and Dakota. They were getting ready to go to Chuckie Cheese! I was running out of time, so I headed back the way I came…it seemed like I walked forever. I finally made it back to where the cathedral was…then I asked someone which direction the park was, they pointed me in the direction, but I didn’t realize how far away it was! I was about to ask again when I realized I was actually already there. I only
LunchLunchLunch

My lonely lunch at Restaurante Los Angeles...but it was yummy!
had a hour before I needed to head to the train station, so I just quickly went into the park looking for the Plaza España. I found it, and I’m so glad I did. It was really pretty…and I actually saw a bride WEARING THE DRESS I’VE BEEN WANTING FOR THE PAST YEAR OR SO!!!! I couldn’t believe it…but then again, I knew it was by a Spanish designer…at first, I just thought, dang, I love that dress, it’s so pretty, and when I got closer, I realized it’s the exact same dress that I have pictures of saved on my computer! Ha. (I know I’m nerdy). And that confirmed it, I have to have that dress! ; ) I tried taking a picture, but the one from the front didn’t work out because I was trying to be discrete. Anyway, after I walked around the plaza a little, it was time to head to a bus station. I found the one that goes to the bus station, so I sat waited for it to come. I sat there for about 15min. and I started getting nervous, but finally it came. Then I realized I had no idea when to
Plaza de EspanaPlaza de EspanaPlaza de Espana

Here's Plaza de Espana, they were actually setting up for an Expo that will be in Sevilla in November...it's supposed to be pretty big.
get off…luckily there was a guy there that was going too, so I just followed him. When we got there, I only had 15 min. before my train left. Perfect timing. I got on the train, and I was so tired. I slept the whole way home. When I got back, I went straight to the Metro…to home…to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Plaza de EspañaPlaza de España
Plaza de España

These tiled benches went all around the building at Plaza de España.
Plaza de Toros de MaestrazaPlaza de Toros de Maestraza
Plaza de Toros de Maestraza

From inside the Bull Ring in Sevilla
Real Alacázar de SevillaReal Alacázar de Sevilla
Real Alacázar de Sevilla

It's really hard to show just how beautiful and detailed this place was...
Real Alacázar de SevillaReal Alacázar de Sevilla
Real Alacázar de Sevilla

Just standing in the courtyard...I've gotten really good at using ´self timer!´
Horse-drawn carriages!!Horse-drawn carriages!!
Horse-drawn carriages!!

I wish I could ride one...or drive one...is it called drive?


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb