Easter Sunday


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

March 23, 2008

Easter Sunday. It just isn’t the same in Spain as it is at home. The Spanish people don’t really celebrate Easter as a big deal like people in the US, so Julie and I tried to make it as good as possible. The main Easter mass at the Cathedral was this morning at 10, so we had to wake up a lot earlier than normal. When I came back to my room after showering, there was a note and some candy on my bed from the Conejo de Pascua (aka Julie). She gave me some of her chocolate because I was sad I was missing my Easter basket. When we made our way to mass, we managed to catch the second paso, of Mary, of the only procession that was going today. That was exciting because we didn’t think we would be able to see it at all.

Mass was supposed to start at 10, but at 10 a number of priests started singing in the Choir. Then finally around 10:15 the priests who were saying/helping with mass showed up and processed around the Cathedral right out the doors onto the streets of Sevilla. We got really confused and just waited thinking they would be back soon, but soon turned into 30 minutes later. Finally mass started, and an hour and a half later, and a frozen body later, church was over. We went back home to wait for lunch. After lunch we went to Starbucks, of course. I decided that since I wasn’t going to get my candy fix this Easter, I was going to get cheesecake. I had Dulce de Leche, and it was delish! I also had a hot chocolate because I couldn’t go without my Starbucks drink!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb