Andres...finally an intercambio!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
March 13th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

March 12, 2008

This morning we had our meeting for our trip to Morocco and the Sahara. I am so excited to go now that I know what we’ll be doing. Some of the things include: tours of Chefchaouen, Fes, and Midelt, 4x4 to Albergue Ali El Cojo, and a night in a tent in the Sahara. It is going to be a very interesting experience seeing how life is in Africa, especially the differences in the treatment of women.

I finally was able to meet my new intercambio today. His name is Andres. He is 38, married, and works for La Guardia Civil, or national government. He is working on learning English so he can move up a grade in “English school”. He speaks English to me, and I speak Spanish to him. He says I have really good Spanish, especially since I can talk fast, meaning I don’t have to think too much about what I want to say before saying it. That made me feel good about my speaking since that is the thing I am least comfortable with.

Tonight I had a presentation in my Current Events class. I did the differences between how the United States and Spain celebrate Easter/Holy Week and Christmas. It went pretty well, or at least I hope it did! One more LONG day of class including my first test of the new period, and then its Spring Break!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb