About a month


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
February 20th 2008
Published: February 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been out of the country for about a month now...a scary thought. On the one hand I have just three months till I'm back home with my friends and family, but on the other only three months to explore a very old, unique and diverse country and culture and learn the language in the best setting ever available to me. But enough about time, let's talk about people.
The people are very casual here in Sevilla (I don't feel like anglicizing right now). My senora is very matronly, which is the norm here apparently. Everyone is really fashionable and well-dressed all the time, so Americans are very easy to pick out of a crowd. People are also very vocal. Not necessarily hostile, but they aren't afraid to shout at someone or honk a horn. They also speak loudly anyway.
The food is the best I've ever had (sorry Mom/Grandma), and the dining hours are distinct to this country. Lunch is the biggest meal and starts at two in the afternoon, and dinner (nine or ten at night) is more of a snack to tide you over to the next day. Breakfast may as well not exist.
Learning to listen to the language isn't something I thought I would have as much trouble with as I did/do. I've heard that it takes people about a month to really develop an "ear" for a language, which corresponds to my experience so far. Getting to the point where you can actually speak fluidly is more like three months, though I have a feeling I will take longer.
Several newspapers are free here. I have no explanation for this.

I don't have much more to say right now, and I'll add the little differences as I think of/discover them. If you are planning to study abroad, with the situation I have right now, I'd recommend packing enough clothing for 10 days (eight days worth is probably enough too, but I'd hate to shell out the dough for new clothing) and trying to pack enough toothpaste/shampoo/etc. for the whole time. Toiletries are surprisingly expensive here, and the extra space in your baggage by the end of it all will be good to have.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb