Footbal and Flaminco Dancing


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
May 16th 2007
Published: May 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Plaza  in SevillePlaza  in SevillePlaza in Seville

This is before the Cathedral in the Plaza. The horses were our taxis!!
Greetings.....
Today we took the train from Madrid to Seville. I can´t believe Im about to write this, but thank god for the wheels on that backpack or I would have died carrying that thing through the subway. I´m not sure how Ade fit everything in there so perfectly because when it was my time to shove everything im my bag before we missed the train I had quite the time fitting all my shit in that bag. Im afraid im gonna have to ditch a sweater or something. Where is Ade when you need her!!!!

I wish I had one more day in Madrid. It was sooo rushed. Something funny about Madrid is everyone smells good. The subway even smells good. Not like cheap perfume in Mexico but nice perfume. Its a funny observation.

The train was beautiful. Everything here is so green. It reminded me of taking the train through laramie with my Grandma. Actually its funny I think Seville reminds me the most of my Grandma. All the colors of her house and all her paintings reflect this city. Anna got nervous because our hotel seemed sooo far from the city. It is on
AlcazarAlcazarAlcazar

Walt Disney based Cinderellas castle after this one! This place was huge and amazing
the other side of the river. I took a good 3 hour siesta in the room before we set out over the river. The heat here is intense. After walking around with no end in sight we ran right into the cathedral. Upon first glance it looks like a medieval castle. It is SO BIG it is breathtaking. We decided to leave it for tomorrow and go to the Alcazar instead. There really are no streets here everything is on foot or vespas. The Alcazar is a mansion for Spanish Royalty. It has secret gardens all over and is really amazing. Once again my ipod got me into trouble. I decided to close my eyes for a minute and lied down on one of the benches. The Guard came over and yelled at me for lying down. Oooops....Wheres a girl to rest her feet???? We walked around shopping for a little. Im on this desperate quest to find Kim and Ade the perfect birthday presents but after a while my feet were hurting so bad I had to stop.

Ana and I split up for a few hours so we could do seperate things. I think I love just walking around with really no plans. I meet her down the street a little later and we went to a Flamenco and Tapas bar. We had a few glasses of Sangria and some great Tapas...Meredith you would have loved this place. The Flamenco dancing was incredible. Seville is home to Flamenco and it was really amazing.

At about 10pm we headed back over the river towards the hotel. We watched the end of the footbal game and when Seville won people dropped to the floor. They were crying with joy. Everyone was freaking out and fireworks and gunshots filled the air. People were honking there horns in the street for hours. After enjoying the fiesta for quite a while we decided to head back to the room. There is only so much yelling SEVILLLLLAAAAAAAAAAA and drinking one can do in one night. Dude, these people know how to celebrate!!! Tomorrow we are going to the Cathedral and sleeping in...SEVVVVVIIIILLLLLLAAAAAAAAAA Buenos Noches....


Advertisement



23rd May 2007

Party like a Spaniard
SEVILLLLLLLAAAAAA! Way to merge with the natives! Post football victory gunfire can be dangerous so watch yourself. Go ahead and toss those sweaters and buy one $1000 outfit to wear everyday, that's what the Italians do. Love and miss you!
4th June 2007

love
hi honey perusing your blogs again and adding a little comment.i love the pic of the plaza in seville.it hasnt changed at all.tapas are the best.i read this cool artyicle from the woman who wrote under the tuscan sun and she made a list of all the types of tapas she had in spain.it was interesting.im glad you got to be in a town with a bunch of drunkin spaniards celebrating a victory.how fun is that? i love you.mom

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb