Another day trying to find our way in Sevilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville » Bormujos
May 24th 2011
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I went for a run this morning. I did not plan to go for a run this morning. Katie didn’t either but at least she wore her sneakers. Mental note: The train station is not in the same direction as everything else. Rest assured I will not forget that. Despite running alllll the way after we headed in the wrong direction first, we were only able to get to the station in enough time to wave bye to the train. Had we known which staircase to take, we *might* have made it. We weren’t the only ones with directional problems this morning…Mitch & Ryan joined us and we actually still made it to class just a few minutes late after catching the next train. On the plus side, I spoke to many people on the street (in Spanish), asking for directions…Even better that we more or less understood one another.

Class is very difficult because I don’t remember all the verb tenses. It’s really hard to a. pick up what they’re saying, b. apply that to what we’re doing and c. understand how to do it correctly. I seriously need to find a verb cheat sheet. Much of it comes a lot easier than I would expect. When I draw from my own knowledge and listen, it is ok. I actually am surprised that it has been as easy as it has to jump right in. We did have a nice side conversation about the weather in Rochester and how much better it is in Sevilla and she asked how many degrees…but most of us only really know °F…I said around 20°C, maybe 22°C…which is about 70-75°F. All that walking in Geneseo and paying attention to the bank clock was worth something!

This evening we had our first culture & civ class. Before we went up to the room, they sent us to the computer lab. There were ancient computers with Spanish keyboards that confused the heck out of me. The internet tried to lock us out of FB and I decided they were overrated, turned it off and worked on my homework. My professor for this class is the first female professor I’ve had the entire time I’ve worked on my masters degree (from Fisher…both my Spanish professors are female too). Sad?? Yeah. Well, I really like her and it was such a nice change to have a class in English! Though 3/5 of us can speak either language…just glad I don’t HAVE to! Of course there is plenty of content to keep track of, but no worries on that one. There are only five of us in that class.

Afterward we hung out in the playground/bar area outside our apartments that the daughter of my host mother (who lives with us) owns. (Yeah, I know...cool!) There were lots of snails on the counter...that looked like the ones we have crawling out of our gardens... When I was walking there, someone asked me if I knew where the zapatería was…in Spanish! I felt special but sorry because I didn’t know. I think I found it tonight though! You have to understand that there is a bar on every corner, but they’re not like the bars that we know…it’s like going for coffee or tea…a very social time for cervezas (beer). While we were there, Tenaya and Andrea played football (soccer) with some little kids. Apparently it was the two of them against something like 6 boys…all of them half their size, lol!

We were going to go to La Plaza (downtown/old Sevilla), but (totally
The oranges side of the streetThe oranges side of the streetThe oranges side of the street

In the beginning, I knew this was the correct street because the oranges smell soooo baaaaad!!!
almost typed pero…oy) the metro stops running at 11 I think and it was definitely 11 and we weren’t going to walk all the way there and back tonight, so we found a tapas bar and I tried one with palometa. Well, I asked the woman what palometa was and she said it was fish. After she served it, I decided it must be smoked salmon or something like it. It was between bread with cream cheese. After I got home, I searched the word in spanishdict.com and it says “ray”…mañana I will ask what it really is! So I basically have no idea what I injested. After that experience, I decided I needed más helado. The woman working behind the counter literally handed me five tasting spoons because I said I needed chocolate ice cream! Then she told me about her husband’s heladería and even drew me a map in my pad to find it! Tenaya and Andrea also came into the shop and asked if she made smoothies…she had us tell her how to spell “smoothie” and “blended”. She spoke some English and told us to speak to her in Spanish so we can practice and she’ll speak to us in English so she can practice and tomorrow come back and try her fresh whipped cream. We already made a friend in Sevilla, lol.

Ok I seriously need to go finish mi tarea because I still have some work in my book to do for tomorrow morning…and I was thinking about going running BEFORE catching the train this time…and it’s already 1:11am here. There is ALWAYS the siesta! (Might have to take advantage of it).

Ciao for now!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Confusing keyboardConfusing keyboard
Confusing keyboard

I had to google the @ sign so that I could type my email in to check it...eventually we figured out how to use it but knowing how to type so fast on an American keyboard only made it frustrating!
Vino dulceVino dulce
Vino dulce

Muy fuerte! *pucker*
Ursula's barUrsula's bar
Ursula's bar

Mi señora is a barista.


Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb