Ronda


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Ronda
March 16th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CIMG1208CIMG1208CIMG1208

First view of Ronda
My school sometimes puts on day trips to different cities within Andalucía. So I took the day trip to a small pueblo (small town) named Ronda. Ronda is a cute little town that is situated on cliffs. We left Granada early Sunday morning, and it took us about two hours to get there. I’m sure the scenery was beautiful, but I slept the majority of the way there, and when I wasn’t sleeping I had my eyes shut tight. Most of you know that I get car sick just sitting in a car, so sometimes bus rides can really be a struggle for me. Our tour guide was one of the teachers at our school. She is an interesting lady. She is very loud, kind of scary at times, but very smart. She really knows her stuff. She got very excited along the way when we passed a pond that had a bunch of flamingos in it! That’s right flamingos. In Spain. I was shocked too.
When we arrived in Ronda we first walked to a little park that gave us an incredible view of the valley below, and the surrounding mountains. The scenery in Spain is really fantastic. I’m still amazed at the things that I’ve seen in my two and a half months here. Ronda is also well known for its bull-fighting ring. Bull fighting fascinates me, however I don’t agree with it. I think it’s very cruel, however I do plan on seeing one before I leave Spain. It is a dying art in Spain because of how cruel it is. Yes, it is considered an art form as well as a sport. It is an important part of the Spanish culture. Unfortunately they are destroying some of the bull- fighting rings. Even though I don’t agree with it, I do think they should keep the rings as a mark of history and culture. They kept the coliseum, and I think these carry just as much of a historical significance.
After we got done with our guided portion of the trip, we had about three hours to explore by ourselves. So Deanna and I set off down the street. We walked all around the city. It was a beautiful day to just stroll. At one point I was confused as to where I was in the world, because of the amount of German tourists there were. Ronda is strictly based on tourism.
Ronda is a very beautiful pueblo. It has a bunch of cliffs and a bull-fighting ring, but that’s about it. I would recommend visiting Ronda, but just for the afternoon, because there isn’t much to do. It really is beautiful. I asked my host mom about the city before I left and she told me it was “un pueblo precioso” (a precious little town). A precious little town it was. It looked like it was just out of a picture book!



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

CIMG1211CIMG1211
CIMG1211

Thomas!!!
CIMG1212CIMG1212
CIMG1212

I still get excited when I see grass, and trees
CIMG1213CIMG1213
CIMG1213

like I said a bull fighting ring and cliffs, that's about it
CIMG1222CIMG1222
CIMG1222

I'm a professional tourist. I see a horse and I take a picture
CIMG1225CIMG1225
CIMG1225

It really is beautiful though
CIMG1231CIMG1231
CIMG1231

My travel buddy
CIMG1233CIMG1233
CIMG1233

Sometimes I just really feel like a horses ass


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb