Ronda hiking adventure


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Ronda
October 2nd 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

view of the gorge from new bridgeview of the gorge from new bridgeview of the gorge from new bridge

Taken at panoramic point

Arabic Bridge


Funny, both travel books called the oldest bridge the Arabic bridge, but the TI map calls it the Roman Bridge and the signage states it is likely Arabic.

It was a lovely walk down some very twisty-turney roads, and I was amazed to see a car rumbling up the cobblestones toward me. It was followed by several scooters, which I did not find at all surprising.

New Bridge hike


I then went looking for a way to get underneath the New Bridge. I found a way to get *inside* the bridge, where I found an interpretive center. I could see the trail from the bridge, but could not tell where it started from. The town is arrayed along either side of a chasm, with bridges between. I finally found it clear at the other end of the old part of town. The path was paved to the first viewpoint, and then went on as a gravel path. I hiked all the way to the bottom, but the best shots were from the mid-point.

I met a man from Great Britain on the path who lives in the next village and had hiked up for the day, and hiked for a while with a young woman from San Francisco in town for a wedding.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 91; dbt: 0.2163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb