Ronda


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Ronda
October 1st 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The long awaited Ronda!


Today I traveled from Nerja to Ronda. My new friends in Nerja gave me a lift to Malaga, as they had friends arriving at the airport about the time I wanted to leave. It was wonderful to stay in a home, and I am ever so grateful for their wonderful hospitality. They introduced me to their friends, and I was able to attend a lecture and get a feel for what it is like to live in Spain.

SO! Ronda!! I fell in love with Ronda from the pictures on the internet. One lovely Arabic, and two Roman bridges; the 'new' bridge was built starting in 1751. The 'old' bridge is dated 1616, and the Arabic bridge dates from the 11th century. Ronda was a capitol for the Moors, and was one of the last cities to fall to Spain.

Tomorrow, a hike and pictures. I had a lovely glass of dry sherry to celebrate lucking into a B&B, and some yummy tapas.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 16; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb