Chicken Soup for the Solo Woman Traveler


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
July 3rd 2014
Published: July 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

July 3, 2014



Today I embark on my two-month journey of adventure and self-discovery. It sounds cliche to commence this way and perhaps it's even more cliche to begin by acknowledging the cliche. In any case, I'm looking to get lost for a bit and to open my eyes and my heart to the world around me. Meanwhile, clearing my mind of unnecessary concerns and filling it with wonderment and gratitude to have been given this amazing opportunity.



I begin my story from a turbulent plane that departed from Paris and arrives in Malaga, Spain. This is the second leg of my flight as I initially departed from Los Angeles with a layover in Paris. Sleep-deprived from weeks of insomnia and ripe with the scent of my own sweat, I look forward to the last leg of today's journey which ends with a bus ride from Malaga to the City Center in Granada. More so, I look forward to a shower, comfortable bed, and perhaps some charcuterie and a glass of wine. When in Spain...



A bit about my travel motivation. Without getting into the complex details of my life over the last three months, it's been an emotional journey as I experienced abrupt change in what at the time appeared to be the most substantial aspects of my life. A broken engagement that led to the loss of my home, my dog, and ultimately my job (this one by choice) but nevertheless uprooting--left me no choice but to start over. Clean slate. So what better way to clear my head and heal my heart than to travel? And what better means than to use my wedding funds?



Today I will arrive in Granada where I've rented a fantastic little apartment through airbnb and have planned my stay through the end of July. With no agenda, I plan to get lost about town and take it all in. I look forward to meeting new and interesting people, frequenting what will come to be my favorite local spots, and carrying food home from the markets which I can cook in my very own temporary kitchen. (Being in transit without a permanent place of my own has left me pining for this simple pleasure most of all).



At the end of July I will journey to Morocco--where I begin my trip in Casablanca And end in Marrakech. I've then signed on for a tour that will take me around Portugal & Spain--beginning in Lisbon and ending my trip in Barcelona where I've also booked a beautiful apartment from a seemingly fantastic host.



I cannot emphasize enough my excitement as well as my general curiosity about where I will be at the end of these two months--the new friendships I've formed, the new places I've seen, the new woman I've become.



Stay tuned!

Advertisement



7th July 2014

I love you. The woman you were. The woman now - courageous enough to take her life into her own hands. And I can guarantee I'm gonna love the woman who returns too.
10th July 2014

Love you Erin!
10th July 2014

I'm looking forward to following your travel adventures :)
11th July 2014

Thanks so much, Haylie!!
15th July 2014

Solo Woman
I've just discovered your blog and I eager to read your adventures. I love the way you started your blog reflecting on your open eyes and heart to take in the world around you. I don't know you but I'm proud of you and the way you've decided to use your wedding funds. You've taken a big step....making lemonade out of lemons and all of that. Ok, now I'm using the cliches. Any way, things happen for a reason and I suspect once you return from this trip you will understand all of it better and will be very happy this happened. Looking forward to reading more.
15th July 2014

Thank you!!! This means so much!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb