Big Sigh, I AM HERE!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Malaga: Birthplace of Picasso and Antonio Banderas, and summer play-place of Enrique Iglesias.

So far, so good. I arrived at the Malaga airport 3 days ago, where Juan Antonio picked me up. He is very calm and completely opposite to me! Makes things interesting, but we are getting along well. We took the tram back to the flat that I am now staying in, and he showed me around. The flat is very nice, and his family is very warm. I feel safe, and totally freakin´scared all at the same time!
The way that people speak here has an accent and speed that I have never experienced before! 5 words a day-that is my goal.

From what I have seen, Malaga seems like a nice place to live- the sea is calm and warm, and the palm trees amongst it make me relax immediately upon touching the sand. There is a beautiful castle close to the beach, that lights up in the evening, making a beautiful picture in the middle of the city. The streets are fairly narrow, and the people seem to be friendly- from the few words I can make out!

During the day, Juan and I went shopping because he needed a female opinion on clothes. First stop: Spanish Wal-Mart. It was just as it sounds, but I definately chuckled...chuckled? I don´t talk like that. I LAUGHED to myself because it was so similar to home! One big difference though, is that you have to put all of your stuff-purses, shopping bags, ect into plastic bags, and seal them up. Imagine. Imagine what that would be like. Then, picture all of the people, arguing in another language. No, wait, they were just talking. Welcome to Spain.

The ´Feria´ in Spain, is a 10-day party where many people dress in traditional clothes, and go to the fair grounds to drink, eat, dance and enjoy the rides...this is usefull info because......

Last night, Juan and I went to see Enrique Iglesias in concert, as it was the first night of Malaga fair. Along with Enrique, the lady who delivered the opening speech was a flamenco singer. And I loved every note that she hit in her perfect performance. On top of that, there was a short performance from a male flamenco dancer..ummm......umm......yep, don´t remember his name! Shocker!
He was incredible as well, and it made me remember how I used to love being on stage!
Single tear.


I will be looking for a job on Monday as most of the stores are closed for the fair. And yes, to those who are wondering- they still close up the shops for Siesta, only they don´t neccesarily all nap!

Sorry, there are not too many pics from the last few days, but I will attach a few!

Love from Malaga,

Jenna



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Enrique Concert-I was not a fan till that nightEnrique Concert-I was not a fan till that night
Enrique Concert-I was not a fan till that night

You would be too, despite the fact that the only decent picture I have is of him seemingly giving the Left side of the audience the middle finger.
Juan Antonio and IJuan Antonio and I
Juan Antonio and I

Before the concert on the beach
Paella PartyPaella Party
Paella Party

Juan´s Mom, Toni-short for Antonia, made a delicious traditional Paella for Juan´s birthday! Muy Delicioso!


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb