Its been awhile....


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
March 9th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well...I realized it has been a VERY long time since my last update!! But that's probably because this last week and a half has flown by

So Lindsay and Karen came here from to stay with me from last Saturday until this past Saturday and it was so good to see some friends from home....unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate much and the warmest it ever got was like 65 degrees, but we still had a good time anyways. The nice thing is that instead of lazing around on the beach all day like we probably would've done if the weather had permitted it, we ended up going out and seeing places to keep ourselves preoccupied. We hung around town for the first few days to see all the local attractions, and then we went to go visit a beach town called Nerja and then Gilbratar (where they speak ENGLISH!!!) At Gibraltar we decided to partake in the British tradition of eating fish and chips, and then did a lot of touring around the town.

It was so good to be able to share this place with people from back home, and let them see this the town the way I do...I'm really glad we got the chance to have a week vacation together! We crammed three of us into my room, but it worked out perfectly. I think the best part was the fact that we were able to be self guided travelers and do whatever we wanted whenever we wanted without having to work around some director's time schedule. It sounds like it increased their interest in traveling Europe in the future too, so I am quite excited about that 😊

Saying goodbye was a little hard just because I know it'll be a while before I see another familiar face from home again, but it also made me realize how lucky I am that things have gone so smoothly for me during this trip. I have never been an independent traveler before, and at first it really freaked me out, but now I'm realizing coming here was one of the best decisions I've ever made. Its not that I don't miss people and places at home, because I definitely do, but this experience has become such a huge growing experience for me. I've been gone for almost two months already, and it still feels like I just got here, but at the same time I know so much good stuff has happened since I got here. I haven't just been learning about a new culture and lifestyle, I'm actually getting to experience it firsthand and indulge myself in it, and I'm really grateful for that experience. I never thought that being in a place so foreign where they speak another language could feel so normal after being here, but it does. And even when I go to travel around to other places around the area, I know that I still get to come "home" to Malaga. And as much as I do miss my actual home, I've kind of started my own little family over that makes it a lot easier to be so far away.

I absolutely love the whole independence thing that comes along with this trip and being in control of it all....at first it was a little scary but now I'm realizing its really much easier than it seems and really makes you realize what you're capable of accomplishing.

So basically, I guess I'm saying if anyone ever gets the chance to study abroad but is feeling hesitant about it, just go ahead and do it! You'll get way more out of it than what you'd expect....

Wow I just realized I am realllllyyy tired and I have an exam at 9 am tomorrow....woot....back to reality!!! more updates tomorrow!

Advertisement



10th April 2009

MONOS!!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb