..................................


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
February 11th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So…the sun is out and the weather is warming up so I’m really in the mood to go to the beach this week! For once the non-heated houses here are WARM inside, its soooo much nicer! Except the tile floor is still ice cold and the shower still has luke warm water, but I’m getting used to it so it’s not such a big deal anymore. It’s weird how all the things I found different/strange here when I first arrived are starting to seem normal now. I figured it would’ve taken a month or two to get to that point, but I guess when you’re surrounded by the lifestyle all the time you kind of have to adapt or things won’t go smoothly. Now that I’ve got the city figured out a little bit more, walking around and going places doesn’t scare me anymore because I feel like I actually know where I’m going. When I first got here, I was a little bummed because my house is kind of out towards the older part of Malaga where things aren’t as well taken care of, but now that I know how to get to the good parts of the city it doesn’t bother me as much anymore. I’m also learning more from it too….like NOT to take the taxi at night unless you want to pay an arm and a leg to get where you need to be. Last weekend I ended up paying 13 euros just for transportation, which is pretty sad when you consider the fact I live less than two miles from where I was at the time….but, I was definitely not going to walk a mile alone in the city at 5 in the morning!

I also finally found a Meijer-esque store….in the basement of the mall… random. For some reason supermarkets are always found in malls here! But I am soooo excited because I haven’t been able to find a place where I can shop for random stuff throughout the semester yet, and now I think I’ve finally found it!! Wow, I never thought I’d be excited about a supermarket, haha. Warning to all: Supermarkets here are VERY confusing!! And so Is el Corte Ingles….8 floors of confusion, gotta love it.
I hope things are going well for everyone! Much love!! **


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb