Getting into the semester...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The building reserved for all us lovely foreignersThe building reserved for all us lovely foreignersThe building reserved for all us lovely foreigners

I stole this off the internet....hehe
Things went so much better today!! I am soooo excited. I only had one fail today, which was when I slept through my alarm and woke up at 8:35 and had to be to school by 9. Fortunately, I was able to get ready in 8 minutes, book it all the way to school, and arrive at 9:00 on the dot!! oh yeahhhh....and I did some research over the streets around my apartment last night, so I was able to make it both there and back with NO PROBLEMS!!! Now all I have to do is wake up on time tomorrow and it will be a perfect day...haha. I'm figuring once I get into the swing of things with school, I will stop feeling so off all the time, and not have so many epic fails. Otherwise this is going to be a very interesting semester!

Classes here are run a little different, but I kind of like the way its organized. Right now the class size is very small, ranging from 5-15ish students per classroom, and they are all foreigners, but from all different parts of the world. My classroom has students from North Korea, England, Germany, and Holland
(yes, the REAL Holland) in it....everyone speaks different languages, so we try to stick to speaking Spanish with each other since its the one language we all seem to have in common. For the first two weeks I am taking an intensive language course from 9-2 everyday, then after that the course is complete and I start my electives, which means I will then have class from 10-2 everyday. Its a lot of walking, but I don't mind it because the weather is really pleasant and I kind of like seeing the sights. The city is organized a lot differently then any city in the US would be...here its all about using up space as efficiently as you can. Things aren't spread out like they are in in America, and most people live in high rise apartments that are 10+ stories. There are two highways that run through the city, and the rest are narrow, winding streets, and its kind of entertaining to watch all the small European cars fly down them.

This city has a ton to offer, and I'm really excited about it! The coastline is packed with things to do and is really tourist friendly....I haven't spent much time on the beach, but will hopefully make it out there sometime this weekend, because I'm trying to take it easy this week while I'm settling in and trying to get into the swing of things over here. I do know that I'm going to be visiting Cordoba on Saturday, so I am definitely looking forward to that, because apparently its a pretty cool place!

Anyways, I'm wayyyy freaking tired....so good night everyone and I hope things are going great!! Much love!

Advertisement



4th February 2009

thats sweet that you have tons of crazy foreign people at your school. are you at a regular spanish university or is it like a foreign people one?
17th February 2009

Malaga sounds awesome from what you have described- I am going there in the summer and its great to hear your recommendations for places to go!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb