Rugby Femenino: A Sponsored Sport


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
February 10th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola, amigos y familia! It’s me, Caitlin Sage Forbes-Gray, guest starring on Amber’s blog. Well, I thought I would tell you all a bit about my main activity, outside of teaching English and enjoying good Spanish food and wine. I play rugby for the University of Malaga’s women’s team. We are one of 3 teams in Andalucia. The others are Sevilla and Granada. I stumbled upon the rugby team when I was looking for a Frisbee team, on Nora’s suggestion. Nora knew that sport’s teams are the best way to meet new people and get some exercise. Though Spanish people have no idea what Frisbee is, at least in the south of Spain, they can play rugby.

In fact, my team is the league champ in Andalucia. They are some devoted women, practicing 2 times a week between 9 pm and 11 pm, and also keeping to the training schedule of 3 more runs ever week. It was a bit brutal at first, but I am accustomed to it. I may even be good enough to be part of the regional team. The first cut is over, but I have to prove myself one more time. Good thing rugby is a sponsored sport!

Now, what do I mean by a sponsored sport? Well, I am not a student in Malaga and yet the school considers it a favor to them that I play rugby. I have full use of the gym facilities and ride to all games on a bus provided by the university. If I get injured, I can speak to the trainer for free. It’s crazy and impressive, but that’s not all. The regional team is on a whole new level. The Andalucian rugby federation sponsors all players to congregate in 2 different cities for try-outs. That means, transportation, food, and a night in a hotel. So far I have been to Granada, Sevilla, and am staying in a hotel outside of Malaga next weekend. Craziness! If I make the team, they will pay for me to travel to the north of Spain, in Pais Vasco, to play in the regional tournament. I have also heard, though I am trying not to get to excited, that all players will be given an official Andalucian women’s rugby jumpsuit and rugby jersey. So cool!

Now, everyone here knows that I like a good deal, but the best part of Malagan rugby and regional play is not the treats but the people. The University of Malaga rugby team has become my community here in Spain. They are incredibly supportive of one another, and have been that way since the start. Someone always makes sure that I have a ride home from events, and any rugby equipment that I have lacked, scrum cap and metal cleats, have been provided for me by my teammates. Not only is it socially great that I stumbled upon a group of generous Malagans, but I also have regular Spanish practice. My teammates are always correcting me, but I love it, because they are genuinely invested in me perfecting my Spanish. Regional try-outs have been even more intense, because I have been exposed to accents from all over Andalucia.

So, I am crossing my fingers about making the regional team. Feel free to do that as well. If I get up to Pais Vasco (Basque Country), I will make sure to enjoy some of the world-renowned tapas and raise a glass of wine to all my people back in the U.S. Love you!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



12th February 2007

Fingrers Crossed
Good luck with your tryout, Sage. Whatever happens, this has been a wonderful way to meet friends and have a great time!
12th February 2007

Great!
Love this site!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
14th February 2007

Rugby! Rugby!
Buena suerte Saje. ~MRD
27th May 2007

For Love of the Game
Rugby!!!!! what a Great way to travel. Go the All Blacks!!!!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb