We found an apartment!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
September 15th 2006
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yipee!! Yahoo!!! It looks like we won't have to be homeless after all. 😊

On our third day in this fine city of Málaga we have found ourselves our dream apartment. It’s a 10-minute walk from the school where I’ll be teaching, 10-minute walk from the beach and a 20-minute bus ride to the city center. And for all you New Yorkers, here’s the real estate rundown: 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a big kitchen that is separate from the dining room that is separate from the living room (remember when those 3 rooms were separate places?), a terrace, TONS of closets and drawers and cabinets for storage and an elevator.

Now what does all that mumbo-jumbo really amount to? Well, Sage is happy. I’m happy. And we have enough space that you can all come visit us at once!! (Seriously, there are beds for 8 people.)

Other than this fabulous news, we’ve been pleased to discover that Málaga is gorgeous, peaceful and full of things to explore. Yesterday we checked out the central market, which was conveniently divided into 3 sections (fish, meat and vegetables) so we didn’t have to stare at dead pigs while we bought fruit. We put together a fantastic picnic, which we enjoyed on a grassy knoll at the beach. Later we dined on fresh fish and seafood at a restaurant overlooking the sea. If you ever get a chance to try razor clams, I highly recommend it!

Sage got enrolled in a 4-week Spanish course and is already studying for her placement exam. She will be devastated if they place her in the lower intermediate course, so she’s cramming in hopes of getting placed in the upper one. And today we staked out cute cafés near her school where she can hang out with the friends we’re sure she will make in class. J

I, on the other hand, am staring at all the Spanish women I see to figure out what on earth I can wear to work. This whole warm climate thing is throwing me for a loop in the professional wardrobe arena. I am dying to start teaching, but can’t get too excited until my orientation on October 4th. In the meantime, I’m getting eaten alive by some invisible sort of bug that doesn’t seem to bite anyone else. Besides that, however, the transition to Málaga has been smooth. I like the food. Everything is cheap. And we are starting to feel less and less like tourists everyday. We already look totally cool on the buses with our fancy plastic monthly passes.

Well, as soon as I sign my lease on Thursday, I’ll send out my mailing address. Until then, take care and think happy grammatical thoughts for Sage!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb