Jerez de la Frontera


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Jerez de la Frontera
June 21st 2013
Published: June 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Friday 21st June
My routine on the day I move on has developed into - sleep at late as possible (most breakfasts do not finish to 11am and checkout is Noon), have a leisurely breakfast, pack, taxi to the train station, train to where ever an...d taxi to new hotel!
I have been so lucky with the hotels I have chosen since leaving Madrid. The accommodation for the first 3 weeks was all booked before I left Tumut. For the rest I have used a website www.trivago.es (yes - Spanish!) and the recommendations in Lonely Planet I am only booking a few days ahead. So far so good. The Hotel Eurico in Toledo was adequate (double bed but room badly organised), but noisy as my room faced the street. In Cordoba, Hotel El Conquistador was excellent (double bed, room well organised) - included a restaurant, courtyard, staff fantastically helpful. The Hotel Alcantara in Sevilla was also excellent. A totally different grade of hotel to that in Cordoba - only 2 stars - but fantastic location, great staff, room well organised despite only a single bed. And now here in Jerez! I was worried as the taxi drove into very narrow streets and I could not even see a sign for the hotel at street level. Once inside my opinion changed dramatically - while checking in and getting passport details registered, the extremely helpful man was organising a sherry tasting and tour (in English!) for this afternoon and a transfer and tour to an Andalucian Horse Stud and Show for tomorrow. I then made my way to my room - along a terrace into a large room with a double bed. The hotel also includes a courtyard and restaurant - where I had tapas (basmati rice with king prawns and curry ali-oli) for lunch before walking to the bodega for the tour and tasting.
What a way to spend an afternoon! A group of 9 of us were first shown the private art collection of the owner of the bodega - which include works by Goya, Picasso, Greco, Murillo and many others. What an expensive hobby to have! The tour guide then explained the process used in this bodega - the traditional process where the barrels are kept at an average of 19 degrees and 60 per cent humidity by using the east west orientation of the building. Then the tasting began - 3 different sherries and 2 brandies! Wow! After buying a bottle of Pedro Ximenez (sweet - suitable to have with cheese etc) I stumbled through the narrow streets back to the Hotel Chancilleria. The owner of the hotel suggested I may like to 'siesta' in the roof top garden so that is where I am now!!! James Packer eat your heart out!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb