My sister´s favorite place!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
April 8th 2006
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We are in Granada, Spain today...probably my favorite city (have I said that about all of them?) mostly because everything reminds me of my sister and her amazing friends from Granada. On my bus ride from TOledo to Granada I just kept thinking about how much I wish she could be here to share this place with me...

A few of my favorite things...

The Teterias (small tea houses-juka bars) that have a very relaxed, hippieish, North African feel---Pakistani tea is my favorite---similar to Chai.

The Room of Secrets in the ALhambra---just one of the amazing rooms at the Alhambra. When you stand in the middle of the room, the acoustics make you feel like you are talking into a microphone...I AM CONSTANTLY AMAZED BY THE INGENIUTY of the people who built these old buildings.

The hill up to the Alhambra...the ALhambra sits above the entire city of Granada and the hill up to the Palace makes for a kick ass run in the mornings.

FREE TAPAS...all you have to do is order a glass of 2€ sangria and you get FREE FOOD ( I am a cheapskate these days so that makes me happy).

Firodigelatto...YUMMY Gelatto stand...Leche Merengada and Dulce de LEche.

The shops off of Elvira Street...Outdoor Market feel, tons of bright colors, again a North African influence.

*****KNOWING THAT MY SISTER LIVED HERE and getting a better glimpse into the world that she lived in!


I will post pictures again as soon as I can!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Amigos in GranadaAmigos in Granada
Amigos in Granada

Alex, Perdona, Francisco and Jose---tapas bar hopping in Granada.
A view from the AlhambraA view from the Alhambra
A view from the Alhambra

A view of Sacromonte---an old Arab quarter in Granada.
Teteria PervaneTeteria Pervane
Teteria Pervane

Where Emily works!
FlamencoFlamenco
Flamenco

At La Chumbera, a theather that looks out on the Alhambra.


9th April 2006

GRANADA
OMG I still can't believe you are in the city that we lived in! I wish I could be with you right now...I am glad to read that you are enjoying Granada your second time around. Please have a Shawarma for me! If you see Emily, tell her I say hello! Ciao.
10th April 2006

Hola
Have fun in Granada Sarah! i wish i could visit that City right now!
11th April 2006

gelato!!!!!!!
Eat extra gelato from Fiordigelato for me! I wish you could bring some back in your suitcase.

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb