finalmente...en Granada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
January 9th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

my roommate, lauren.  my roommate, lauren.  my roommate, lauren.

she´s from ohio and is really a very cool girl. oh, and she usually has curly hair.
hola a todos! Lo siento for the short first message - I was a bit rushed and was paying for the time on the internet. Just a little summary - I am studying through an independent study abroad program called International Studies Abroad (ISA). (www.studiesabroad.com) I´ll be here until May 20. When I return, I have about a month at home before I leave for my summer training for Teach for America. Then, as I said before, I am moving to Los Angeles in August! I´m not sure I thought I´d ever write that sentence...

We arrived in granada yesterday around 6pm to meet our ¨senoras,¨ the women who we´re staying with for the semester. My roommate´s name is lauren, and she´s from ohio. As I write this I keep staring at the computer trying to think of the words I want to say in english! I keep wanting to write in spanish! Weird. Anyway, my roommate and I get along really well, so that is always good. From the information we received in the mail, we thought we´d be living with her and her two sons, but it turns out that her two sons don´t live with her. So
every day...every day...every day...

we walk out of our house, and this is what we see. to get to school, we walk down our street straight toward this cathedral, then straight through its plaza.
it´s just us three! Last night she had to go out so Lauren and I were alone in her apartment, and I attempted to plug in my blowdryer...and the power went out. Since she wasn´t home, and we didn´t have her cell phone number, we had to call one of the directors to explain the situation. Lauren happened to have a little flashlight, so it wasn´t too bad. We were laughing a lot, and nuestra vecina (our neighbor) came over and helped us, so it was okay.

I just got done taking the placement test here at the CLM (centro de lenguas modernas). There are tons of students everywhere here; it´s so fun! They don´t let us speak English here, either, so it´s a great environment. (of course we can a little bit if necessary, but they don´t encourage it!) We have an intensive month before we start actual classes, and the placement exam was to determine what level of review and instruction we need in this intensive month. I placed in the advanced intermediate level, which I expected and am happy about. I hope to make it into the advanced program because of the classes offered (such as
the ISA officethe ISA officethe ISA office

here´s the ISA office, right down the street from the CLM. it´s a gathering point for students to chat, make plans, and of course check their email.
Teaching English to Native Spanish Speakers), but we´ll see at the end of the month.

Well, otras estudiantes are waiting to use the computers, so I think I´ll end this. We have sort of an orientation day today. So far, Granada seems amazing...we live right in the middle of the city, close to everything we need. I´ll write more about the city later! Hope everything is well in the States! Hasta luego...


Advertisement



9th January 2006

HI Friend!!!
9th January 2006

HI Friend
Hola Amigo! Soy tan feliz que usted tiene un tiempo agradable! Pero Dakota del sur empieza a perderle! ¡Espero que usted encuentre que un tipo español caliente para jugar con! Adórele Katie (You didn't know I could speak Spanish.. did ya??_

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb