The Alhambra and the Sierra Nevada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
November 21st 2005
Published: December 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick one-nighter to Granada with my program. North of Sevilla, I got my first whiff of autumn this weekend and saw my first colorful trees, along with snow-capped mountains (The Spanish Alps!) off in the distance. I’m most definitely not complaining about my lack of winter here in Sevilla, but I’ll admit I do miss it every once in awhile.

Anyhow, Granada’s a very cute energetic town that I’m hoping to convince my parents to go visit so I can get back there. I enjoyed wandering the streets and shopping in the very Arab-influenced stores. Tons of goodies—food and cheap little trinkets.

The Alhambra was more than impressive and our guide was really good. I’ll finally admit it; I lost my camera cable, so you’ll have to wait for pictures. I’m sorry! It’s so amazing how much history there is in such a small town and what a year 1492 was for Spain.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see much of the nightlife here because no one was in the mood for partying. Both Michigan and Betis (Sevilla’s poor-man’s soccer team) lost to their rivals (Ohio State and Sevilla (Sevilla’s rich-folk team), respectively). Luckily it didn’t take too much from my experience.


Advertisement



9th December 2005

Alexi -- I'm sure we'll be able to go to Granada. I'll see you soon!!! kyra

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb