Funky


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Granada around midnight. We had made a friend over a bottle of wine on the train, a New Yorker named Jesse, who like us, had just graduated. A lot of people we have met just graduated or are returning to their graduating year. So we were able to walk together down the streets of Granada to our hostel, "The Funky Backpackers Hostel." Which was very funky. It was small in area but had many floors, and free internet. We shared a room with 6 other girls (Kev was a very lucky man). Funky also had a rooftop terrace where breakfast was served every morning and drinks every night.

The first morning we headed out to the Alhambra, a large 14th century fort built by the Moors when the Islamic army had taken over most of Spain. Tickets online were sold out, so we had to get there early to get tickets they reserve for people like us who can't plan ahead. We got tickets for 2 pm. In the meantime, we explored the Albacin, which was a very old, Moorish-style part of town, and it was very cool: small cobblestone streets, very hilly, and very good smelling food. We had the best falafel we've ever had. It was packed with veggies, tsaziki, humus, etc.. for only 3 euro!!!

Anyways, back up the hill to the Alhambra... The Alhambra is broken into 3 parts: the palace, the fort, and Generalife (huge gardens). There was also a town of some sorts built within the walls of this area. The palace was gorgeous: very different from most gothic architecture that we have become accustomed to across Europe. Muslim style architecture is a lot more detailed, and uses a lot of tiling, plaster, wood, and water. Prestine pools, fountains, and channels of water were everywhere. We did not get to see the fort, and the garden was nice, but a bit too organized and upkept - I like it more wild and messy.

That evening we went out with a group from our hostel to these hotsprings surrounded by olive groves in the middle of nowhere. It was so much fun, we stayed there until 2 am, but our clothes are still smelling of sulphur. By the way, I bought these Spanish pants that they were here, which I call my Princess Jasmine pants. They are huge and baggy, but have an elastic at the ankle. I put the elastic at my knee so they look like a weird skirt. Anyways.... Back to the hot springs, after a few bottles of wine and sangria, and some local naked spanish men looking for some love, we ended up making new friends and having fairly intellectual conversations. One of our drivers was Dutch, and he said I spoke dutch clearly and I was very proud. Kev would like me to add that I only speak one phrase of Dutch, but I will remind you all that it was one phrase spoken well.

All in all, we loved Granada and made a couple of good friends who we would travel to Sevilla with. I want to go back. Next time.

PS. We are not posting photos right now because I dont have my camera right now, but pictures will come soon, so be sure to check back for them! (I dont know if the emails will remind you if I just add pictures)

Advertisement



3rd July 2007

quick thinking
well it sounds like you guys are having a great time as you make your way through spain! I would have been terrified if someone had opened my room door in the middle of the night!! Good idea to employ the chair as a security measure! These places all sound so amazing....I went to a hotspring once when I was visiting my family in germany, but that was about 13 years ago so I remember very little and I would love to go back to one in the future. anyways, love the blogs and I will check back for pictures! Have fun!
3rd July 2007

wow
sounds like you guys are having a blast. The pics you have been taking are pretty cool. Wish i was there with ya guys. Take care!!

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb