La Gran Mezquita


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jewish NeighborhoodJewish NeighborhoodJewish Neighborhood

Before visiting the cathedral, the IES group was supposed to visit a synagogue (Cordoba has a significant Jewish population…or at least used to), but we arrived too late and it was closed. It make up for it, we went to a museum of the history of Sephardic Jews, and heard a live performance of some of the ancient ways of playing music that they still practice today.
Happy Halloween Everyone!

Sorry this entry is so late! I have been plowing through midterms for the past two weeks, and so I never got a chance to post these pictures, even though I went to Cordoba on the 17th. It was a fantastic trip!! The visit was entirely based around architectural sites, because I went with my Islamic art and architecture class, so unfortunately I didn't get to see any of modern Cordoba. The first part of the trip involved going outside of the city and touring ruins. There wasn't much to see, honestly, so I didn't bring my camera. Later, we went and visited the Great Mosque; that is what all the pictures are from. It was a very impressive visit, especially since I have learned so much about the building in class. It was originally constructed by Abd Al-Rahaman I, using Roman ruins as a base, and it gradually was expanded by the 4 next rulers. When Spain became a unified, Catholic country, the mosque was spared, but converted into a cathedral. It is truly unbelievable to see how that was achieved--the architect clearly did not want to ruin the mosque, or any of its most significant features, so he just plopped a cathedral right down in the middle. My teacher calls that concept “sacralización de lugar” (sac-religious architecture, essentially). Being there reminded me of how similar Islam and Christianity really are, in a way. The majority of the space is clearly a mosque, with the exception of a few crosses hung around, and so forth.

Yesterday this same class took a trip to the Alhambra, and I foolishly forgot my camera. Luckily, we are going to go back twice more, so I will snap some pictures then.

And as you all know, today is Halloween! Granada is one of the few Spanish cities that has embraced this American tradition, but they do it in a much different way than we do in the states. There is no trick-or-treating…everyone just dresses up in really scary costumes, especially little kids!

Other than that, I don’t have too much else to report on! I joined a salsa class, so I will have flamenco and salsa moves to bring back to the states!

Miss you all!
Amy



Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

El AlminarEl Alminar
El Alminar

I can't remember the word in English (minaret?). This was originally the tower in which the call for prayer was made, and now it is the belltower of a cathedral.
Patio of the OrangesPatio of the Oranges
Patio of the Oranges

It is very common in Islamic architecture to utilize themes of paradise, in building construction and in decoration. The Orange Patio is a good example.
Arcos EncalbagadosArcos Encalbagados
Arcos Encalbagados

Literal translation--Horsebackriding Archs. Pretty accurate.
Bosque de ColumnasBosque de Columnas
Bosque de Columnas

It is very hard to see in these pictures, but these archs and columns stretch out a very long way...it creates a really stunning feeling, like you are in a "forest of columns."
Roman RuinsRoman Ruins
Roman Ruins

Underneath the Mosque
Cordoba 024Cordoba 024
Cordoba 024

Pretty amazing clash of cultures/religions right here...


3rd November 2008

great blog
Hi Amy I have been reading your blog and it sounds like you are having an amazing trip. I found your account of Morocco particularly fascinating. I hope you continue to have wonderful adventures. Love, Joyce

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb